A little bit about myself…

For my first blog entry I will tell a little bit about myself. An edited version will remain in the About Me Section.

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. While growing up I also developed an interest in science . No doubt my love of Star Trek contributed to my love of science and history. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. One of the problems I have in advancing in my study of science is that I was born without the math gene and my math skills are poor. However, as an adult that have improved in that area. By my late teen years I had developed an interest in European Royalty and history. I also developed interests in psychology and spirituality.

In my 20s and 30s I lost touch with a lot of the “nerd” aspects of myself. I still would watch Star Trek movies when they came out. I resisted and turned up my nose at Star Trek:The Next Generation for a while before I succumbed to its charms. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. I also discovered that the type of science fiction and fantasy movies that I enjoyed the most are the type that are fun and lighthearted escapist in tone and style. It’s not that I don’t mind more heavy science fiction its just that I don’t like things that are too dark and depressing.

I used to read comic books. I was a DC comics fan with Superman, Batman and the Flash being my top favorites. To this day I remain a huge Superman fan. However, I no longer read comic books so that is part of Nerd culture I do not revel in. I did not grow up in the era of video games. When I was in my late 20s I used to watch my daughter and her friends and some neighbor kids play Super Mario video games. I really enjoyed them so I have a collection of a few of Super Mario games for Nintendo 64, Game Cube and the Super Nintendo System. I also enjoy the snowboarding game 1080 for Nintendo 64 and Game Cube. Other than that I am not much of a gamer.

For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Captain's Log.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

