The Avengers

The Avengers
Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Samuel L. Jackson, Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo
Director: Joss Whedon
Release Date: 4 May 2012

The Avengers is a culmination, or the bringing together of various Marvel characters that began in 2005 with the creation of Marvel Studios. In the comic books the Avengers consists of the superheros Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Hawkeye and the Black Widow. The first four of these characters had their own feature films and interwoven within these films has been the Character of Nick Fury, the head of S.H.I.E.L.D, a secret organization who is gathering these superheroes together to organize them into a unit if they are ever needed in the future. This movie depicts their coming together, although not very easily (a lot of egos to deal with) to fight off a threat to the world from Loki, the brother of Thor.

Growing up I was never really a fan of the Marvel universe. I was a fan of DC comics and their superheroes such as Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, the Flash, etc. As an adult I have enjoyed the various Marvel based superhero movies, even those such as the X-Men and Spider-Man movies not involved in the continuity of the Avengers related movies. This movie looks like it will be an action packed fun adventure and I must admit I am looking forward to this much more than the Batman movie, The Dark Night Rises, which seems very bleak and joyless.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

