Snow White And The Huntsman

Snow White And The Huntsman

Starring: Kristen Stewart, Chris Hemsworth, Charlize Theron, Ian McShane

Director: Rupert Sanders

Release Date: 1 June 2012

With the success of the Lord of the Rings franchise a decade ago Hollywood has been incorporating a sense of realism in their fantasy films. Snow White and the Huntsman is a gritty retelling of the Snow White story. This stars Chris Hemsworth, who played George Kirk in the most recent Star Trek movie and also played Thor in the movie of the same name as well as in the new Avengers movie. Hemsworth is the Huntsman who is sent by the tyrannical Queen Ravenna (Charlize Theron) who is out to kill her step-daughter Snow White, played by Twilight’s Kristen Stewart. The Huntsman spares her life as Snow White hides in an enchanted forest with magical creatures where she is aided by dwarfs (at least 8 or 9 of them and not 7) and a prince who assist her in bringing Queen Ravenna to her destruction.

 I am a special effects junkie and do not apologize for that. I really enjoy the magic of Hollywood and how they can create an entire world or universe that pulls the viewer into that experience. Now that CGI has become so realistic the experience of these fantasy worlds have become more captivating for me. Snow White And The Huntsman looks like a movie that can transport you and pull you into a world that is both magical and dark.  

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

