Area 407 (A.K.A. Tape 407)

Area 407 (A.K.A. Tape 407)

Starring: Abigail Schrader, Samantha Lester, James Lyons, Melanie Lyons, Brendan Patrick Connor, Ken Garcia, Samantha Sloyan

Directors: Dale Fabriger, Evert Wallin

Release Date: April 27, 2012 (limited)

 This movie just popped up on my radar a day or so ago! I follow several websites dedicated to upcoming movies and it still amazes me when a movie is set to be released that I never heard of. I already have a list of movies that are being made now that are due out in 2013 and 2014. Movies like this are a pleasant surprise. I really don’t know too much about this movie except that it is an independent movie and it is part of the “found footage” genre exemplified by such movies as The Blair Witch Project, Cloverfield, Apollo 18 and the most recent movie, Chronicle, where teens develop superpowers.

 I really enjoyed Cloverfield and was all wrapped up in the viral marketing for that movie. Cloverfield was the best at first viewing because I did not know what was happening and the entire focus of the movie is not the story but the experience of the events. However, my slight disappointment with Cloverfield came with successive viewings because once the events are known the experience is greatly lessened. That has been my experience with all of these found footage movies. It remains to be seen whether Area 407 is similar in that regards.

 Since I do not know too much about the movie I will quote a plot synopsis from Commingsoon.com.

 Plot Summary: “Area 407,” features footage that feels too real for reality and too disturbing for fiction. This footage captured by two passengers on an airline flight from New York to Los Angeles spans the hours of one night until the next early morning. Boarding the plane on New Years Eve, two teenage sisters begin there impromptu filming of themselves and their fellow travelers. Unknown to them as well as the other passengers this flight is doomed from the outset.

 After taking off and soon celebrating the arrival of the new year the passengers are soon sent into shock and alarm as the plane experiences severe turbulence. The relentless weather attack causes panic and terror amongst the passengers until the plane ultimately crashes in a remote government-testing reserve.

 Soon after the crash the passengers take quick account of the few among them that remain alive. The survivors, bloody and disoriented, are pursued in the darkness by unknown predators that, unbeknownst to them, are part of the government’s top-secret Mesa Experiment. The group of individuals that are among them are diverse and struggle with a common plan to move forward with and stay alive. Without warning deaths occur and lead each person to assess what they can possibly do to evade such a lethal threat. Running through the dark and being trailed by something that cannot be fully seen, these survivors do the only thing they can, try to stay alive.  

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

