Prometheus

Prometheus

Starring: Noomi Rapace, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender, Guy Pearce, Idris Elba

Director: Ridley Scott

Release Date: 8 June 2012

 Ridley Scott directed the very first Alien movie in 1979 that spawned a number of sequels and  returns to the franchise to direct Prometheus a movie that is a prequel to the 1979 movie…but it is not. Confused? So am I. Prometheus was originally going to be a direct prequel to the franchise but Scott reworked the script in order that this movie could be a stand alone project where viewers needn’t be familiar with the series in order to understand and follow this film.

 The Alien franchise has had its ups and downs. The first sequel to Alien was the 1986 movie Aliens directed by James Cameron famous for directing the first two Terminator movies and the blockbusters Titanic and Avatar. Many critics site Aliens as the best of the franchise. Two less successful sequels followed, Alien 3 in 1992 and Alien Resurrection in 1997. There have also been two crossover movies with the Predator franchise, Alien vs. Predator (also known as AVP) in 2004 and Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (also known as AVP:R) in 2007, a movie filmed with so many dark scenes at night that it is virtually impossible to know what is happening on screen. The two crossover movies were panned by the critics and where not that popular with the fans.

 The basic story line of Prometheus is that it is set 30 years prior to the first film where humans have first contact with the race of giant beings discovered by the crew of the Nostromo in the 1979 original Alien movie. The trailer does look promising and I am looking forward to this movie.  

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 30, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

