G.I. Joe: Retaliation

G.I. Joe: Retaliation

Starring: Channing Tatum, Dwayne Johnson, Bruce Willis, Adrianne Palicki

Director: Jon M. Chu

Release Date: 29 June 2012

Growing up I think I did own a G.I. Joe action figure, one of the 12” models and not the smaller ones that came later. The 2009 hit “G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra” and this sequel are based on the Hasbro’s toy line that lasted from 1984 to 1996 and the supporting animation series. The original and the subsequently this sequel did/does look great. My daughter saw the original in the theater and really enjoyed it and was certain I would also like it. So I purchased the DVD sight unseen and she was right, I loved it!

 I am looking forward to the sequel. Since some of the characters were killed off in the original this movie seems to center on Roadblock played by Dwayne “the Rock” Johnson. Also having a small role in the film is veteran action movie superstar Bruce Willis playing the original G.I. Joe, General Joseph Colton. All in all it looks to be similar to the original a fun, escapist science fiction action movie.  

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

