The Amazing Spider-Man

The Amazing Spider-Man

Starring: Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Rhys Ifans, Irrfan Khan, Martin Sheen

Director: Marc Webb

Release Date: 3 July 2012

 In the last decade we already had three successful Spider-Man movies, [Spider-Man (2002), Spider-Man 2 (2004), and Spider-Man 3 (2007)] directed by Sam Raimi and starring Tobey Maguire as the web slinger. Although the third installment did make the studio money it was not as well received and instead of having the next installment continue the downward trend the studio decided to reboot the franchise and start all over again. This outraged many fanboys.

 Marc Webb was set to direct and James Vanderbilt was tapped to write the screenplay and Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci reported to re-write it (man, these two are all over the place!). Andrew Garfield was chosen to play Peter Parker/Spider-Man, Emma Stone is playing the love interest Gwen Stacy (instead of Mary Jane from the comics and the previous films), Denis Leary is player Gwen’s father Captain George Stacy and veteran actors Martin Sheen and Sally Field are playing Peter’s Uncle Ben and Aunt May respectively.

 I was one of the people that thought the reboot was unnecessary, especially on the heels of a successful franchise. But after seeing some of the costume designs and the initial trailers I was on board. The original trilogy changed one aspect of Spider-Man from the comics, namely, his ability to shoot his webs was a physical attribute that came with the rest of his spider superpowers. In the comics Peter, a scientific wunderkind, developed an apparatus that enabled him to shoot his webs. I really liked the departure from the comics that the first trilogy done with this aspect of the character. I was disappointed at first that this new movie has not followed that route and returned to depicting his web shooting abilities as they were established in the comics. But having watched the trailers I understand that this displays his scientific genius and I have come to accept that change.

 The trailers look great and I am really looking forward to this incarnation of Spider-Man.

 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 7, 2012, in Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

