The Dark Knight Rises

The Dark Knight Rises

Starring: Christian Bale, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Gary Oldman

Director: Christopher Nolan

Release Date: 20 July 2012

This is the most anticipated movie of the summer. Christopher Nolan has undoubtedly breathed new life into the Batman franchise. Starting with Batman Begins in 2005 and its sequel, The Dark Knight Rises in 2008, which contained the Oscar winning performance of the late Heath Ledger as the deeply psychotic Joker; these films brought a sense of gripping darkness and realism to the character. This will be Nolan’s last Batman film and the last time Christian Bale will don the Bat cowl. If this movie rakes in the dough as it is suspected to I wonder if this truly will be their last film?

The last movie saw Batman on the run after defeating the Joker and taking the fall for the wrongs Harvey “Two Face” Dent committed while bringing down the Joker. Little is known about the plot of The Dark Knight Rises except for the fact that it is eight years after the events of the second film and Batman returns to Gotham when the rebellious and brutish Bane (played by Tom Hardy) begins to carry out his plane to destroy Gotham. Batman also encounters the mysterious woman Selina Kyle.

From the trailers it is very hard to figure out the plot so I really do not have any more information than what had been revealed there. Pictures of Anne Hathaway have circulated in her Catwoman outfit yet it is speculated that the name Catwoman might not even be in the script. Since this is Nolan’s last Batman movie another question, or suspicion many have is that Bruce Wayne/Batman may not survive the movie. 

Batman has always been a top favorite character of mine behind Superman. I have enjoyed Christopher Nolan’s take on the character. Despite my enjoyment of the Dark Knight Rises my minor complaint is that ..it is too dark thematically and it went on a little too long. Hopefully Nolan will bring a little light to the final chapter and that the movie will not overstay its welcome.

 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 10, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

