Total Recall

Total Recall

Starring: Colin Farrell, Kate Beckinsale, Bryan Cranston, Jessica Biel, Bill Nighy, Ethan Hawke

Director: Len Wiseman

Release Date: 3 August 2012

This was a movie I wasn’t really sure needed to be remade. The original was a classic movie released in 1990 starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and directed by Paul Verhoeven and loosely based on the short story “We Can Remember It for You Wholesale” by Philip K. Dick. The special effects for that movie still hold up after 22 years. So why bother? Also, after reading that this version, starring Colin Farrell, Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel takes place entirely on earth and there is no trip to the planet Mars nor is there a reference to the red planet left me pretty bummed. However it needs to be noted that this version of Total Recall isn’t really a remake of the 1990 version but a retelling of the original story. In the original short story the main character, Douglas Quaid, wants to travel to Mars but in fact never actually goes to Mars in the story. 

What turned my attitude around toward the project was reading more about the premise and how it sticks closer to the original source material. The original short story by Philip K. Dick is a story which deals with the theme of altered states of consciousness. This version of the story is more direct and upfront with the questions about what is real and what is imagined. The 1990 original was more ambiguous about the question of whether or not the events that were unfolding were actually occurring or were they all in the main character’s mind. Director Paul Verhoeven purposely kept the movie ambiguous allowing the matter to remain unresolved. 

In this version of the film Colin Farell is a factory work in the year 2084 and begins having nightmares about himself being a double agent but not knowing which side he is fighting for; either Euroamerica (the union of the United States and Europe) or New Shanghai (the union of China and Japan). Colin also starts to suspect that he’s a spy whose memory and personality were erased and replaced. The trailer and its depiction of the future, something which I am very curious about, also helped me turn my attitude around about this project. The movie is very well made and it looks like one of those movies you can escape into. While I am not always keen on dystopian views of the future this movie does look intriguing and interesting to me so I am going to give it a chance.

 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

