ParaNorman

ParaNorman

Starring: (voices) Kodi Smit-McPhee, Casey Affleck, Anna Kendrick, Christopher Mintz-Plasse

Directors: Chris Butler, Sam Fell

Release Date: 17 August 2012

 This is the last of the summer movies I will be previewing. ParaNorman is 3D stop-motion animated movie produced by Laika, distributed by Focus Features. I really do not know too much about this movie other than what I have seen in the trailer. It looks to me to be a funny morrow movie spoof. I am not into horror movies too much, although the more lighthearted variety are fine around Halloween, and many times I will take a spoof over the real thing. This looks to be very kid and family friendly. There is a rawness to the animation style that I like. The style suits the theme and the characters very well. Humorous while invoking common themes from the horror genre.

Here is the synopsis from Wikipedia:  The small New England town of Blithe Hollow comes under siege by the undead. Only a misunderstood local boy, Norman Babcock, who has the ability to speak with the dead, is able to prevent the destruction of his town from a centuries-old witch’s curse. He’ll also have to take on ghosts, witches, zombies and worst of all, the moronic grown-ups. But this young ghoul whisperer may find his paranormal activities pushed to their otherworldly limits.

That takes care of the Summer Season. The irony of doing a blog which features a lot of content about movies is the fact that I really don’t like going to the movie theaters. I will review these movies but you’ll have to wait until the DVD. 🙂

 

Copyright 2012 WJFoley 

 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 16, 2012, in Captain's Log..., Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

