Will Battleship sink fast?

Beginning this week, Mondays on this blog will be dedicated to looking at box office returns for the science fiction/fantasy movies I am following. The majority of movies are released on Fridays and movie studios anxiously await the Box office returns because it is a pretty reliable indicator how well a movie will do in its initial run at the theater. If a movie does poorly on its opening weekend and word of mouth is not good for a particular film then chances are it will not do well at the Box office. I also like to look at both foreign and domestic box office receipts because the foreign market, consisting of a diversity of nations, often can help a film that has done poorly on the domestic market.

 This past Friday, May 18, 2012, the movie Battleship opened in theaters nation wide. It failed to grab the number one spot and finished in second place behind the Marvel juggernaut “The Avengers” which as of this weekend has brought in a total of $457,078,000.00 domestically and $723,300,000.00 at the foreign box office for a grand total of $1,180,378,000!! Battleship brought in a total of $25,300,000.00 at the domestic box office and a more respectable $215,300,000.00 foreign. This is not a real good start for a movie that is supposed to be a summer block buster.

 Although I still have great interest in seeing this movie the reviews coming in are not too favorable. On Rotten Tomatoes.com Battleship only has a 36% rating, which is hardly a fresh rating, among professional reviewers. However, 57% of movie goers have said they liked Battleship. The negative reviews do not discourage me because I have liked movies with far lesser positive views than that. In fact when I read reviews I don’t take them as Gospel but merely as a guide. For example, many of the reviewers for Battleship seemed to have gone into the film with a closed mind and then the film only validated their preconceived notions. In other words, this is a movie they didn’t think they would like and then they ended up not liking it because it is a movie than doesn’t pretend to be anything other than it is, a mindless pop corn movie. So that is what the movie looks like to me, a mindless pop corn movie, and that is what I am expecting.

 Although Battleship will not sink the Avengers I do hope that it finds its audience and makes the studio a good profit. I would love to see more fun action packed popcorn munching movies made in the future.

 https://foleyfunfilmfacts.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/battleship/

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/battleship/

 Copyright 2012 WJFoley

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Monday Box Office Recap and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

