What’s in the Hopper?

I have posted about movies that are coming out this year and next so today I want to mention some movies that are still in development phase. Being in development does not mean the film will see the light of day. There is a place called Development Hell where film ideas can languish for years and even decades before they get made. Sadly, some films never leave Development Hell.

One movie that is in development now and was supposed to have been released this year was a new American made Godzilla movie. There was an American Godzilla movie produced by Sony Pictures and directed by  Roland Emmerich and producer Dean Devlin  (Independence Day) which did not do as well as expected at the box office. Although I enjoyed the 1998 American Godzilla movie many did not and the rights reverted back to Toho Studios and no sequels were ever made.

In  2010 Legendary Pictures acquired the rights from Toho Studio to make another American made Godzilla film, with a release date of 2012. The project was to be co-produced with Warner Bros., and Legendary has stressed that their film would have no association with the 1998 Godzilla that their film would be a complete reboot to the franchise.

Legendary Pictures has stated that conceptual artwork for Godzilla that would be consistent with the Japanese design of the monster is being pursued. In January of 2011 it was announced that Gareth Edwards, who directed Monsters, was hired to direct the new Godzilla film. Edwards, who is a Godzilla fan himself, has mentioned he will give this movie a new feel consistent with the character and would not share the tone and feel of the 1998 fiasco.  What has transpired thus far is that David Callaham’s first draft of a script was rejected and in November of last year (2011) Max Borenstein was hired to adapt a story outline by David Goyer to be turned into a script.

From the sources I have this new Godzilla movie is being pushed back until 2014. I have heard nothing else about this movie and hope it is not languishing and suffering eternally in Development Hell.

Another movie that is in Development Hell is a sequel to Cloverfield. Director Matt Reeves, Producer JJ. Abrams, and writer Drew Goddard have been saying they want to do a sequel but nothing has really happened in this direction. The reasons given by the three is a lack of a coherent direction for the sequel and the inability to have the time to get together to work on this project. I really would love to see a sequel to Cloverfield but I am certainly not holding my breath waiting. 

 

This is a large topic and I think I will dedicate Thursdays to examining science fiction and fantasy movies that are in development. 

 

 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

