Top 15 favorite movie monsters!

Top 15 movie monsters.

My criteria for this was pretty simple. I like the Giant movie monsters the best so that ruled out monsters such as Frankenstein, Werewolves, Dracula, the Creature From the Black Lagoon and my ex-wife. I am sure in another series I will include these humanoid monsters.

So my criteria is that they are animal like and that they are big. The reasons why I like them basically is their design. I will say more about each as we go through them individually. There is actually 17 on the list. I lumped a couple together. 🙂

15. Destroyah. From the Godzilla movie, Godzilla vs. Destroyah. A strange spelling for the name. Was Toho trying to appeal to the hip-hop audience? I don’t know but he was a formidable opponent. 

14. Rhedosaurus. From the movie, The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms, and this guy was one of the first giant monsters. Basically he is a large four footed mythical dinosaur. Usually monsters on 4 legs don’t work but this time it did. It worked because it was a model and not the man-in-a-suit type from Toho studios. These men-in-a-suit type of 4 legged monsters are generally on their knees which is the reason they don’t work for me.

13. Gorgo. From the 1961 movie of the same name. The only British monster on the list. The roar they use for this creature is still pretty haunting and the destruction of London is well done. Good job Gorgo! Oh, this movie also has a happy ending….for the monsters at least.

12. The Kraken. From the 2010 movie the Clash of the Titans. With apologies to Ray Harryhausen who designed the first Kraken from the 1981 original movie, I like this design much better because he was gigantic and much more threatening looking.

11. The Balrog. From the first Lord of the Rings movie. More demon than anything else but I loved the design but wish I could have seen more of him.

10. Mothra. From the Godzilla franchise and his or her own movie. I always liked Mothra as a kid and even though she isn’t scary I still think it is rather cool design.

9. Xenomorph. From the Alien franchise. Scary looking and as tenacious as a pit bull.

8. King Kong. From the 2005 remake by Peter Jackson (director of the Lord of the Rings). Sure the movie could have been shorter and a little tighter but someone finally nailed the design down! Giant kudos to Andy Serkis for the acting and depicting him as an actual Gorilla. He no longer looks like a man in a suit but an actual Gorilla! Did I mention what I like about this version of Kong is the fact that he is depicted as an actual Gorilla?

7. King Ghidorah. From the Godzilla franchise. I really like this monster but one thing bugs me. His lack of arms. I understand that he has wings instead of arms but it still looks like there is something missing. But I can’t complain too much about Godzilla’s number 1 nemesis.

6. Zilla. This is the creature from the 1998 American version of Godzilla. He is still owned by Toho studios and since this guy was easily defeated Toho removed “God” from the name and just dubbed him Zilla. I actually really liked the movie and even though I do have a hard time seeing this monster as Godzilla, I do think it is a very well designed monster in its own right.

5. Rodan. From the people at Toho studios. Like Mothra, Rodan originally had his own movie and then became a regular feature in the Godzilla franchise. I always found him to be a menacing monster.


4. T-Rex & Spinosaurus. Both of these “monsters” are the only ones on my list that actually existed. Both were also featured in the Jurassic Park franchise.

3. Gaira & Sanda: The Gargantuas. From the Toho studios. Outside of the Godzilla Franchise, War of the Gargantuas,  is one of my all time favorite monster movies. I was 4 years old when I saw the trailer on TV for this movie and it scared the crap out of me. My parents wouldn’t let me watch this on TV until I was older.


2. Cloverfield.  From the movie of the same name. This creature was excellently design by Neville Page, one of my favorite creature designers. I do like the movie but just wish that we saw more of him in the film. I hope we get a sequel to Cloverfield, I would hate to have that one movie be the only one this creature was used in.

1. Godzilla. Was there any doubt as to who would be number 1? Godzilla has been designed and redesigned multiple times so here are a samples of my favorites. I love the dorsal spines on his back. The bigger the better!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love this post Bill.
    Thanks for sharing. Now I understand why you have some of your friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

