Strange Indeed!!

There really wasn’t anything new in the science fiction-fantasy genre being released today on DVD so I thought I would share with you a review of a very strange alien invasion movie from the 80s. It is cheesy a bit but it was a fun movie. 

Strange Invaders. 1983. 

I was ready to dislike this movie. It seemed cheesy and too strange and it is, but it all works. The music helps because it gives the entire movie an eerie tone. Most of the special effects are low budget except for the car explosions and the alien make up. I think the alien make up by the great Stan Winston really helps sell this movie.

The story begins with an alien attack in the Midwestern town of Centerville Illinois. Flash forward to New York City 25 years later where we meet professor, Charles Bigelow, played by Paul Le Mat, whose former wife Margaret Newman played by Diana Scarwid, has disappeared while attending her mother’s funeral in Centerville. The professor leaves their daughter with his mother (June Lockhart) and travels back to Centerville to find her. That is when all hell breaks loose.

Upon visiting Centerville where he encounters strange and suspicious people who then follow him to NY is when the story really takes off. Much of the story is shrouded in mystery and although you do see a lot of what is coming the movie does have the ability to lure you in and keep you transfixed as the story unfolds. I won’t go into too much detail of this predictable yet fun movie. Watching it unfold, in spite of its predictability, is part of the fun.

Sure some of the acting is stiff and stilted despite the presence of well known actors. It is a B movie which hearkens back to the science fiction B movies of the 50s. In other words this movie is a cheesy guilty pleasure.

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 19, 2012, in Old Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

