Monday Box office review

Brave, Pixar’s 13th feature animated film opened this past Friday and took the number 1 spot at the box office. This is a movie I am very interested in seeing given my love for European Royalty. It also looks great and by all estimates is the best animation Pixar has done thus far. It took in an estimated  $66,739,000 in the domestic box office and $13, 500,000 in the foreign market for a grand total of $80,239,000. This is a very good opening weekend for a Pixar movie. The reviews for Brave are very good. 

Madagascar 3 which had been at number 1 the previous couple of weeks fell to number 2, which isn’t bad considering it beat out Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. Madagascar 3 took in $20, 200, 000 million over the weekend for grand total of  $157,574,000 domestic, $208,400,000 over seas and $365,974,000  for a worldwide total. Madagascar 3 is doing very well.

The number 1 & 2 movies are animated movies! 

Poor Abe. I don’t think he’s doing so well. I have to admit it it is a very strange premise and the movie looks great but the opening weekend is a bit of a disappointment. Abe took in $16,500,000 domestically and only gathered a paltry $7, 800, 000 in the foreign market. I guess not many foreigners want to see the 16th American President battle the undead. I hope Abe can recover from this one. I will be watching! 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 25, 2012, in Monday Box Office Recap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

