Wrath of the Titans Review.

As a person that really enjoyed the 2010 Clash of the Titans remake, I was eager to see the sequel, the Wrath of the Titans. I was not disappointed. In some areas it surpasses the original. The special effects are absolutely stunning. The creatures and monsters that Perseus does battle with are rendered with breath taking photo realism . This self professed CGI junkie is very happy to be living in an age when the special effects have reached this quality.

Similar to Clash of the Titans the move has an uncomplicated straight forward story. It is also more of an action adventure tale than the first one. At the start of the movie we find Perseus living the quiet life with his young son. His wife, Io, has passed away. One day Zeus appears to Perseus saying he needs his help as the power of the gods weakens through man’s disbelief. Perseus refuses until hell breaks loose and Zeus is captured by Hades and Zeus’s son Ares who is jealous of the way his father has favored Perseus. With the help from Queen Andromeda and others Persues embarks on an epic quest to the mountain of Tartarus where Zeus’s father, the Titan Kronos, has been entombed and where Zeus is being held and drained of his power.

This movie also had a bit more comic relief and humor than the original and this makes it a more lighthearted, fun and entertaining experience. The acting is fine and the all-star cast brings an otherwise straight B movie up a notch or two in quality. Movies like the 2010 remake and this sequel remind me of the 50s golden era of science fiction, fantasy and sword and sandals movies. Those were all B grade moves but still a lot of fun. So I view the Titans franchise in the same light and as long as they’re enjoyable like this then I say bring on part 3!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can only hope that the third installation, if there is one, is good! Nice review of Wrath of the Titans though. I have yet to see Wrath of the Titans. I was excited about following Perseus in the sequel, but after so many different thoughts about the movie from friends and Dish coworkers, I have reservations on how good the movie will be. Some say it was great, and some have said the only good thing about it was the picture. I added Wrath of the Titans to my Blockbuster @Home queue to have it mailed to my house, just to try it out. At least I’ll know what to expect from it! It seems like a pretty good movie anyways.

    • Hi Riley, I did like it a lot. There is not much of a big plot. In some ways it plays like a video game where Perseus faces one beast and challenge after another.

      Once you have seen it, drop me a note and tell me what you thought.

      Bill

Leave a Reply

