Elysium news from Comic-Con

I posted a while back about a science fiction movie called Elysium.  There has been footage shown at Comic-Con and a picture released. The movie stars Matt Demon as a worker at a robot factory in a dystopian future. Orbiting the Earth is a place where all the wealthy people live and the station is called Elysium. Demon’s character develops cancer and has a short time to live unless he can get up to Elysium for good medical care and healing. This is a story about the 99% vs the 1%.

Here is a repeat of the synopsis I posted a while back. 

In the year 2159 two classes of people exist: the very wealthy who live on a pristine man-made space station called Elysium, and the rest, who live on an overpopulated, ruined Earth. Secretary Rhodes (Jodie Foster), a hard the government official, will stop at nothing to enforce anti-immigration laws and preserve the luxurious lifestyle of the citizens of Elysium. That doesn’t stop the people of Earth from trying to get in, by any means they can. When unlucky Max (Matt Damon) is backed into a corner, he agrees to take on a daunting mission that if successful will not only save his life, but could bring equality to these polarized worlds.

The movie comes out March 2013. 

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Movie News of the day. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

