There will be no box office news today.

With Friday’s shooting still fresh I really did not think it would be proper to focus on money and how much the Dark Knight Rises made this weekend. With the deaths of 12 people and the injuries of many others I don’t feel right focusing on money this week. So instead I will have a little fun. 

One of the aspects of an old Blog I had that was related to Nerd culture was my love of science. I have a great love of both physics and astrophysics and on that old blog I would do a science fact of the day. I started to do them on this blog but decided to narrow my focus and just review science-fiction and fantasy films. So today, just to keep it light and fun I thought I would just list a bunch of science facts that I found interesting. 

Tomorrow I will be back to my normal schedule or later today with breaking nerd movie news if and when it comes out.  Enjoy!

If an atom were the size of a stadium, its electrons would be as small as bees.

Atom is over 99.9% empty space.

Many physicists believe wormholes (a “shortcut” through space and time) exist all around us but they are smaller than atoms.

Due to gravitational effects, you weigh slightly less when the moon is directly overhead.

Proxima Centauri is the nearest star to us after the Sun.

The ‘Great Red Spot’ – a storm on Jupiter that has been going on for 300 years – is so big that dozens of Earths would fit into it.

The largest known star, VY Canis Majoris (VY Cma), it is a red hypergiant, between 1800 and 2100 solar radii, 8.4–9.8 astronomical units in radius, 3.063 billion km or 1.7 billion miles in diameter, and about 1.5 kiloparsecs (4,900 light years, 4.6×1016 km or 2.9×1016 mi) distant from Earth. The star is so big that if our Sun were a ball 46 inches wide, Canis Majoris would be 1.3 miles wide.

Despite being closest to the sun, Mercury is not the hottest planet. The hottest planet is Venus (at 462 Celsius) due to its dense atmosphere mainly consisting of clouds containing carbon dioxide and a small amount of nitrogen.

Venus and Uranus are the only planets that rotate clockwise (retrograde rotation.)

Earth is the only planet not named after a Roman or Greek god.

The temperature on Mercury varies so extremely that it will rise up to 430C during the day and drop as low as -140C at night.

Even “empty space” consist of matter. there are a few hydrogen atoms per cubic centimeter.

All 27 of Uranus moons are named after William Shakespeare and Alexander Pope characters.

A supermassive blackhole is believed to be present in the center of nearly every galaxy, including our own Milky Way.

The planet Saturn has a density lower than water. So, if placed in water it would float.

A cosmic year is the amount of time it takes the Sun to revolve around the center of the Milky Way, about 225 million years.

A day on the planet Mercury is twice as long as its year. Mercury rotates very slowly but revolves around the Sun in slightly less than 88 days.

The Sun loses 360 million tonnes of material each day. The sun burns an estimated 600 million metric tons of hydrogen every second.

Olympus Mons on Mars is the largest volcano in our solar system, almost three times taller than Mount Everest on Earth.

The cosmos contains approximately 50,000,000,000 galaxies. 50 Billion!!!! To contemplate how large 1 billion is if a person began counting non-stop, at one number a second, it would take you 31 years, 251 days, 7 hours, 46 minutes, and 39 seconds to count to 1 billion. Therefore it would take approximately 1550 years to count to 50 Billion.

The element Californium is often called the most expensive substance in the world (as much as $68 million for one gram.)

Unlike any other element, helium does not solidify.

The six states of matter are: Plasmas, Gases, Liquids, Solids, Bose-Einstein Condensates and Fermionic Condensates.

Gallium is a metal which melts on palm of the hand, due to its low melting point (29.76 °C).

The coldest state of matter — Bose-Einstein Condensate superfluid — defies gravity and instead of flowing down, it flows upward.

Astatine is the rarest element on Earth (approx 28g in the Earth’s entire crust.)

The metal with the highest melting point is tungsten, at 3410 degrees Celcius (6170F).

Mercury is the only metal that is liquid at room temperature.

Absolutely pure gold is so soft that it can be molded with the hands.

If you slowly pour a handful of salt into a totally full glass of water it will not overflow. In fact, the water level will go down.

Hydrogen gas is the least dense substance.

Liquid air looks like water with a bluish tint.

Hydrogen is the most abundant element in the Universe (75%).

Oxygen is the most abundant element in the Earth’s crust, waters, and atmosphere (about 49.5%)

The amount of carbon in the human body is enough to fill about 9,000 ‘lead’ pencils.

Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are made up of just gas with no solid surface to land on.

The star “Lucy” in constellation Centaurus is actually a huge cosmic diamond of 10 billion trillion trillion carats.

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

