Movies I do not like…

I am involved on a few message boards related to science-fiction and fantasy movies. It amazes me the amount of negativity toward a majority of the movies. I question why are these people are on these message boards if they dislike so many of these movies? An unanswerable question.

I am a very easygoing movie viewer. In other words, pretty easy to please. I am just not as critical toward movies as I have seen some people be. A good majority of the time I don’t let a films flaws bother me too much. I have a reputation for liking movies a majority of the people dislike (that will be the subject of next Wednesday’s list).

Having said all of this I do want to say that there are movies I do not like. So here is a short list of five films that I really don’t care for. Well, there is one on here that I do like to some degree it is just that I have some mixed feelings about which I will go further into detail.

1. 2001: A Space Oddessy.

I have not watched this movie in years. Maybe I will give it another try and see if I can view it with an open mind? While the movie is certainly visually stunning it is a movie that just plods along and I found it rather boring. The whole thing with “Open the pod bay doors, HAL.” was one of the more enjoyable aspects of the film. But the bizarre events with Bowman transforming into a space-fetus surrounded by an orb of light still has me puzzled as to what the heck was going on in those final scenes? I have heard so many interpretations of that scene and there seems to be no consensus to what it means. It just makes me want to affirm what eminent historian Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. said about the film. That it is “morally pretentious, intellectually obscure and inordinately long…a film out of control.”

2. Blade Runner

I tried to watch this movie about 4 times and ended up turning it off each time about 30-40 minutes into the film out of pure unadulterated boredom. So this past spring after many people were talking about it online I decided that I would watch this movie all the way through no matter what! I have to report that I made it but was still bored out of my gored! First of all I don’t care for dystopian movies…with some exceptions. The movie is paced slow and while I do like Harrison Ford’s performance and the performance of Sean Young I just could not get real interested in what was going on. I do like the ambiguity of whether or not Harrison Ford’s character is a replicant and that is one of the better things going for the film.

3. Inception

Directed By Christopher Nolan (who also directed the next movie on my list). I saw the trailers and I was hooked! When I rented the movie I was lost and confused and I didn’t care so I turned it off about 45 minutes into the film. Yawn! This movie was nominated for an Academy Award for best picture! 

4. The Dark Knight

Another movie directed By Christopher Nolan. I do admit I like this movie and I own it, I just have some big issues with it. I was disappointed with the movie because I really liked Batman Begins so much. Heath Ledger’s Academy Award winning performance saves this movie from being an overdrawn bore. I have never seen one actor save a movie as he has. The movie is still overdrawn, it goes on too long, and the plot is a little bit too complex. I also had issues with Gary Oldman’s performance as Commissioner Gordon. I should say I had issues with his delivery of his lines in some cases. There were times he mumbles to the point where it is very hard to understand what he is saying1 It took several viewings to comprehend his words. The major point was the first scene he has with Harvey dent when he is in Dent’s office talking about “the Batman.” I could hardly understand a word he said.

Speaking of Dent I think Aaron Eckhart did an excellent job portraying him and the special effects of him as Two-Face is spectacular. I have mixed feeling about turning him into two-face in this movie. While I like his turn from good guy to bad guy it is just one of the issues that crowds this movie. The scenes with the people on the boats and whether or not they will blow one another up is a good concept but is goes on a little too long and again makes the film crowded. What I mean when I say crowded I mean that the movie had too many elements to it and was trying to say too many things. The thing I liked about Batman Begins is that the story was tighter and better told.

5. Serenity

This movie was to wrap up the Firefly series that had a cult following but was cancelled after only one season. I rented the movie because I had heard so many positive things about it. Never having seen the series, which also many fans raved about, I turned the movie off because I did not have a clue to what was going on. So and tried to watch the series before watching the movie. I just couldn’t get into that either. Not sure why. I think the main point is that the series begins just like the movie did, where all these characters are thrown into a situation and I did not know what was going on and who these people were. I guess the show/movie didn’t hook me quick enough for me to find out!

Next week I will show the opposite. Movies that many people do not like but I do!!

 

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think people pretended to understand Inception so they didn’t look stupid. I’m a pretty intelligent person but this is so abstract that it took a lot of brain power to stay with the storyline. I totally agree about The Dark Knight. I love love love Aaron Eckhart in general and it was too bad that the Two-Face story was so rushed and it really just seemed like an afterthought. I had issues with Serenity and I did see the Firefly series beforehand. Mostly I felt that the movie didn’t stay true to the doctor’s character and it made it hard for me to accept. You should definitely give the Firefly series another chance though. It’s pretty amusing and Nathan Fillion rocks.

    • Thanks Jen. I agree with everything you have said. I would have liked to have seen two-face developed in his own movie with Batman because as it was done in the Dark Knight it did feel very rushed and crammed into the movie.

  2. I agree with mostly everything, except Inception…I watched it, and yes, you have to pay close attention throughout, but I truly liked it. It blew my mind. Yep, they rushed and quickly killed Two-Face in the Dark Knight, that and I had such a hard time seeing Maggie Gyllenhall as the love interest; she’s so homely looking. Her face reminds me of Droopy The Dog’s. Other than that, I liked it. Blade Runner was rather boring!

    • I have rented 2001 from the library so maybe I will give Inception another try. I do agree about Maggie Gyllenhall. Homely is a good description. Not exactly ugly but not pretty either.

Leave a Reply

