What’s in the Hopper?

What is in the hopper today?

Lets look at a few movies that are in various stages of production.

With Prometheus still in the theaters (it is doing fair, it is 5 million below on recapping its production budget but has made 177 million over seas) Fox Studios and Ridley Scott are actively moving forward with the next installment. Michael Fassbender and Noomi Rapace are signed to repeat their roles but the studio is looking for new writers due to the possibility that Prometheus co-writer Damon Lindelof may not be available.

The sequel to X-Men: First Class has a title, as confirmed by Bryan Singer, and it is to be called X-Men: Days of Future Past.

Thor: The Dark World, the sequel to Marvel’s movie Thor starring Chris Hemsworth, has signed their villain! Playing Malekith the Accursed will be Christopher Eccleston, best known for playing the ninth Doctor on “Doctor Who.” Thor: The Dark World is due in theaters November 8, 2013.

Godzilla rumor:

This is not a confirmed rumor it is one floating around the internet so take it with a grain of salt until it is confirmed. Many of us Godzilla nerds are waiting for a release date for the next Godzilla movie. Other than the writers and the director, along with a teaser trailer shown at this years Comic-Con, that is all they have so far. A Cast has not been signed and there is no date for when filming is to begin. So the rumor is that next summer Legendary Pictures, who owns the rights to Godzilla, has a movie coming out called, Pacific Rim, which deals with giant monsters fighting humans who are operating giant robots and they are going to see how well that movie does before they green light Godzilla. In other words if Pacific Rim flops then no Godzilla. As I said, this is just a rumor and if I get any conformation or denial I will post it!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on August 2, 2012, in In Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

