Dr. Who

Come on into this post…its bigger on the inside.

Today I want to talk about Dr. Who. Although not a film franchise, it is an iconic TV series that I have only begun to appreciate and like within the last year. I was, of course, familiar with the show but prior to its re-launch I had never seen an episode of the classic run of the series. I am familiar with Tom Baker the 4th incarnation of the doctor.

But I have to ask myself, what took me so long to to jump on the Dr. Who bandwagon!!?? I mean this show has everything!! Time Travel is my favorite story element in science fiction and this has that plus a superhero like Doctor who can fix and solve anything, strange planets, strange creatures and monsters, the mystical and magical TADRIS and then to top it all off some very attractive ladies as his traveling companion! Who could ask for more!!??

I began watching with David Tennant as the 1oth and most popular incarnation of the Doctor. I have to say I do like him best also although Matt Smith as the 11th doctor is really growing on me too. I really adored Billie Piper as the companion Rose, but I have really love Karen Gillian as Amy Pond. Excuse me while I wipe the drool off of my computer.

I am also a history buff, European history to be specific, and I love when the show combines the two elements. So far my favorite episode of that type of story is from the second series with David Tennant and luscious Sophia Myles as “Reinette” the future Madame de Pompadour mistress to King Louis XV of France. The episode is entitled “The Girl in the Fireplace” and is simple a gem of story telling with great writing, costumes and acting.

There will be a seventh season starting soon with a new companion, Jenna Louise Coleman, who is acute as a bug. So I am really interested in learning about the Dr. Who universe and look forward to more episodes!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

