Godzilla vs Megalon 1973

Many critics have cited that this is one of the worst Godzilla movies ever created. I would have to agree and for that reason it has become a guilty pleasure. As I have stated before Toho studios began making Godzilla movies for younger audiences throughout the 1960s. Godzilla creator and producer Tomoyuki Tanaka has gone on record as saying he regrets turning Godzilla into a campy figure for children and wished he had remained a serious character. With Godzilla vs. Megalon, Godzilla movies had reached their zenith of child friendly movies or they had reached the depths of trashy silliness depending on ones perspective. I believe I enjoy this movie solely because it exemplifies how juvenile and ridiculously wacky the movies had become. I enjoy the character of Godzilla and this move displays all the campiness that had become associated with the series by the mid 1970s.


The plot and visual effects play as if it is straight from a Saturday morning live action TV show. The Godzilla suit for this movie is an entirely new suit, however they still made him look like he is a cousin of Kermit the Frog and about as threatening. The plot consists of an ancient race of humans called the Seatopians who dwell beneath the ground. They are angered at the nuclear tests that have been conducted which has affected their civilization and they seek revenge by unleashing their monster/god Megalon upon the earth. Megalon resembles a giant cockroach standing on two legs and has two metal spirals on arms in place of hands. The Seatopians also steal the robot Jet Jaguar in their efforts to destroy the earth. Japan’s Defense Force is able to recapture Jet Jaguar from the Seatopians. Jet Jaguar, who is able to magically grow to equal the size of Godzilla is programed to go to Monster Island and illicit Godzilla’s help in defeating Megalon. However, Megalon himself is teamed with Gigan from the previous movie and the resulting tag team monster fights, which take up a good portion of the later half of the movie, provide much of the laughter and entertainment. The highlight, or low light, of the monster battles is when Godzilla delivers two flying kicks balanced only on his tail to the vanquished Megalon.

Don’t get me wrong this is a bad movie but it is a movie that is laughably bad. If you are the type of person that enjoys movies that are bad purely for the laughs then you might enjoy this. There are better made Godzilla movies out there and I am glad that Toho did see the levels to which Godzilla had sunk and began reversing the trend.

You know, the new DVD for this has just come out and I can’t wait to buy it! 

I rate this movie: C+

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Godzilla Movie Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Man Listen you got to understand that back in the 60s early 70s there was no such thing as CGI ….. To me Godzilla vs Megalon was one of the Best Kaiju Flicks ever Made, i’d rather pay to see this in 3D in theatre than see these stupid remakes they make today !

Leave a Reply

