Favorite Time Travel Movies & Shows

Movies

Back to the Future Trilogy
Timecop Fun
The Time Machine -1960 & 202 version
Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home
Planet of the Apes -The original 1968 version,
The Final Countdown
Time After Time
Somewhere in Time
Time Bandits
Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure
Terminator
Terminator 2 Judgment Day
Kate and Leopold
Flight of the Navigator
Timeline
Godzilla vs King Ghidorah
Star Trek: First Contact

TV Shows & Episodes:

Time Tunnel
The Blink of an Eye ~ Star Trek Voyager
Tomorrow is Yesterday ~ Star Trek, Original Series
The City On The Edge of Forever ~ Star Trek, Original Series
Yesterday’s Enterprise ~ Star Trek: The Next Generation
Cause and Effect ~ Star Trek: The Next Generation
Time’s Arrow, Part I & II ~ Star Trek: The Next Generation
Little Green Men ~ Star Trek: Deep Space Nine
Trials and Tribble-ations ~ Star Trek: Deep Space Nine
End Game ~ Star Trek Voyager

I love time travel stories. Along with alien invasion stories these are my favorites. Some of these are better than others. For example, the 2002 remake of The Time Machine is not as good as the original but it still has some good points and aspects to it. For example, one of the main themes is loss and the fact that we cannot change the past. I think it also has great cinematography and marvelous special effects.

The Final Countdown is a movie I saw in the late 80s after it came out on video. Hmmm. I am not sure what to say here because I am going to give it an official review sometime soon so I don’t want to spoil it. I do like the movie and it is well worth a watch. I even included a Godzilla movie in the mix! Godzilla, aliens and time travel..what more could I ask for?

The majority of the time travel Star Trek episodes I listed are on the fan collective DVD set called Time Travel. You can buy it for pretty cheap and it is wonderful. One of the better time travel episodes is The Blink of an Eye a Star Trek Voyager episode. In the episode Voyager gets trapped in the orbit of a planet that exists in a dimension out of sync with the normal time of our universe. So for Voyager what may pass as normal hours, on the planet below centuries have passed. The people of the planet view Voyager as a god at first. The episode looks at how societies advance technologically and deal with religion and superstition. Very well written. Unfortunately, this episode is not on the Time Travel Fan Collective.  

These movies and shows are among my favorites, if you haven’t seen them yet I suggest giving them a try. If you have seen them…view them again!

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment