Whats in the Hopper?

It is official right before filming begin on the new Kick-Ass sequel titled, Kick-Ass 2: Balls to the Wall, Mark Miller reports they have signed Jim Carey to play Colonel Stars. The sequel will cover events depicted in the graphic novels from Hit-Girl #1 to Kick-Ass 2 #7. I have not followed the graphic novels but I really loved the first movie and I really like a lot of Jim Carrey’s work and I think this is excellent casting. Aaron Johnson, Chloe Moretz, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, and Nicolas Cage will reprise their roles from Kick-Ass in the sequel, which will begin production next week.

Kick-Ass 2: Balls to the Wall comes to theaters June 28th, 2013.

Although the Star Trek sequel doesn’t have a title Chris Pine spoke recently on the remake which is already in the can waiting for next summer to arrive.

This is copied from Trek Today:

According to Chris Pine, Star Trek 2 will not be “like the original but darker.”

Star Trek will be taking its own direction, not following that of another recent franchise reboot. “We’re not making Batman,” said Pine. “That is not our deal.”

Pine went on to talk a little about what Star Trek 2 would be. “There’s comedy, which I think J.J. does a great job of, but, like the first one, there’s some serious issues being dealt with,” he said. “And I’d say the threat is even greater in this one.

“The force [the Enterprise crew] are met with is much more frightening. It’s relentlessly action-packed and in terms of character development it goes places you’d never expect. The arc is huge for all the characters. It’s a really big story – I can’t hype it enough!”

But Pine feels the heat when it comes to expectations for the second movie in the rebooted Star Trek franchise. “I probably feel the stakes are a bit bigger,” he said regarding Star Trek 2. “The first one, we didn’t have much to lose, because we didn’t have much to lose! It was either going to be a great big hot and surprise everybody, or it was going to fall the down the drain and no one would’ve thought twice about it.”

And it just so happened [that] it was pretty well received. So going into this one, I was so excited that we’d brought all these new fans to this franchise that I wanted to do my job to make sure they come back. And I also wanted to do justice to my fellow actors and to the writers, because it’s such a good story.”

Pine doesn’t know about any plans for Star Trek 3, but he assumes there will be one. “Knowing these guys, there’s always a way to make some more installments,” he said. “I’m sure they’ve built-in something, I’m just not smart enough to have seen it! But I’m sure there’s a way. What I do know from the start, in terms of structure, they’ve had an idea of where they want to take the whole thing, just like a television series. I’m very excited about Part 2; when we finished shooting, everybody was [stoked].”

Source: Total Filmvia Irish Central
I am really looking forward to some great movies next summer.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on September 6, 2012, in In Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

