Halloween Movie Recomendations

It is the 1st of October that means….It’s Holiday Season! Most people think of Holiday Season as composing the time surrounding Thanksgiving and Christmas. Not in my house. We add another season…Halloween. So for my wife and I Holiday Season includes the days leading up to Halloween. During that time we watch horror movies or movies with a Halloween theme. I must admit that although I like this time of year…the time from October 1st to January 1st I am very fussy about Halloween movies. I don’t like the crazy slasher films. I don’t really like disturbing movies. What I mainly like are monster type movies. I also like lighthearted Halloween movies. I know that may sound a bit of an oxymoron or a contradiction but trust me, those types of movies are out there. In fact the first three Halloween movies I will recommend are of the fun lighthearted variety.

I began this new feature of recommending movies this last Monday. So from today until Halloween, which is Wednesday October 31st, I will be recommending some horror and Halloween themed movies.

1. Munster Go Home. 1966.

I grew up watching the Munsters in re-runs as a kid and I loved it. This movie was actually in the theaters but it didn’t do too well at the box office. One of the things I liked about the movie is the fact that it is in color. I am so used to seeing them in black and white as they were depicted on TV so it is good to see them if full living color. Or should that be undead color? I also like the plot. I have a big interest in European Royalty and Nobility and the plot revolves around Herman Munster inheriting the title Lord Munster. They travel to England where the cousins who resent them inheriting the title try to do away with them and hijinks ensue! A fun fluffy frolic.

2. Young Frankenstein. 1974.

What can I say about this Mel Brooks film? Is is arguably his very best and it is a well deserved classic. The cast is just superb and it is hilarious from start to finish. Nearly 40 years later one of my good friends and I still are quoting the lines from this movie to one another. Gene Wilder, Marty Feldman, Peter Boyle, the curvy and delicious Terri Garr are all on fire in this spoof of the Frankenstein movie. Here is bit of trivia. The set used for Dr. Frankenstein’s laboratory is the same one used in the 1931 Boris Karloff film. I know I will watch this movie at least a few times this month.

3. Ghostbusters. 1984.

Another movie that still is as fun and enjoyable as it was almost 30 years ago. Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd are in fine form as parapsychologists turned to professional ghost hunters in NY just when the apocalypse is occurring as Gozer the Gozerian, a Sumerian shape-changer god of destruction is about to bring down his reign of destruction. In an era prior to CGI the special effects still hold up very well. No matter how many times I view this film it never gets old. I still get squeamish opening my refrigerator late at night lest Zuul the Gatekeeper is sitting atop my left over dinner.

Halloween doesn’t have to be all scary, dark and foreboding. It can have laughs. So I recommend watching these movies sometime this month and tune in again to this site next Monday for some more fright filled videos to view.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on October 1, 2012, in Movie Recomendation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

