More Halloween Movie Recommendations

We are half way through the month and there are more Halloween movies to recommend. I am going with two fun movies this week. Beetlejuice and Van Helsing.

Beetlejuice was directed by Tim Burton and even though I am not a real big fan of his, I think this is by far my favorite movie of his. This is a movie that just gels well together. All of the ingredients come together for a very funny movie. The cast is excellent, Michael Keaton is outstanding as the title character, Winona Ryder is great as the Gothic teen. This movie came out 24 years ago and has aged very well. It doesn’t seem dated one bit. The first meeting with Beetlejuice in the model is particularly hysterical. Still all these years later I am quoting the lines from this movie. Even though it is a comedy Burton adds a touch of creepiness to he tone of the movie. I think that is what makes the movie so good. It successfully marries the two elements of horror, in the form of a mild creepy tone and comedy. That is not easy to do. I just watched this yesterday and I do recommend you slip this movie into your DVD player.

The second movie I want to recommend is Van Helsing. The movie did so-so at the box office, and has a rotten rating of 23% at rotten tomattoes.com. Don’t let thaq fool ya, I really enjoy this movie. The movie was directed by Stephen Sommers and stars Hugh Jackman as vigilante monster hunter Gabriel Van Helsing, and Kate Beckinsale. The movie is correctly described as an action-horror movie and as Beetlejuice shows it is not always easy to combine genres. The movie is heavy in CGI and I think that has a large part in setting the tone of the movie. With the CGI you have a less than real setting and characters (many monsters are rendered in CGI) which give the feeling of a movie that is not too serious. Even the main Character, Van Helsing, is more like the Indiana Jones of vampire hunters. So I see that this movie is all in good fun. There is a nice panoply of Universal Studios monsters which this movie feels like more of an homage to, so many of the characters will be familiar. Another fun movie to play this Halloween season.

 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on October 15, 2012, in Movie Recomendation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

