More Halloween Movie Recommendations!!

Seeing that we are only days away from Halloween I thought I would use today as another opportunity to recommend some Halloween related movies.

1. Monster’s Inc. This movie is not just for kids! I am 49 and just love it! The art and animation is fantastic and the vocal performances from Billy Crystal and John Goodman are spectacular. Sure, it isn’t scary but as I said at the start of this month there are some Halloween movies that are just pure fun and this is one of them. Watch for the tribute to Ray Harryhausen!

2. An American Werewolf in London. This is a classic movie. It has everything from chilling horror to dark humor along with great special effects. The transformation of David Naughton’s character into a werewolf was ground breaking back in the early 80s and it is still a spectacular sight to behold. Speaking of sights to behold this movie also stars the beautiful and ever so cute and sexy Jenny Agutter…in her birthday suit no less! The movie still gives me chills and is scary and creepy. When David Naughton and Griffin Dune are walking the moors and here the cry of the wolves it sends chills down my spine to this day.
3. Bad Moon. This is a rare gem and a movie many might not know about. It stars Mariel Hemingway. The movie is about a man that has been bitten by a werewolf and returns to his sister to reconcile with her as she is his only family he has left before the madness begins. He sets up house in a trailer out deep in the woods in an effort to protect himself and people. He even chains himself to a tree. Despite his best efforts carnage ensues and the only one that knows the truth is the family’s dog, a German Shepherd. The premise may sound a bit silly but this is very well done! I am very picky about my horror movies so trust me and give this one a try.
4. Hollow Man. This movie stars Kevin Bacon…mmmm…bacon..sorry, I got distracted..and Elizabeth Shue. This is a rather unique take on the invisible man theme. Bacon plays a scientists that is working on an invisibility serum for the government. After many successful animal trials Bacon tries the serum himself. The problem with it is he cannot reverse it once it happens and he slowly slips into madness and his coworkers have to try to help him..if they can find him…while he tries to kill them. This movie has great special effects and it also is chilling and frighting and at times disturbing. Don’t watch this movie alone!!!

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on October 25, 2012, in Movie Recomendation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

