Prometheus Review

I am not a real big fan of the Alien franchise. I own the first three on DVD and the second movie, Aliens, directed by James Cameron, is by far my favorite. I purchased Prometheus the latest sequel, or shall I say marginal prequel, to the franchise. These movies have always been a mixture of horror and science fiction and seeing that it is Halloween I thought it would be fitting to review this movie today. I think this movie really captured the spirit of the original and was a good mixture of both science fiction and horror. The second movie in the franchise, Aliens, leans more toward science fiction than the horror genre which is why I like it the best. However, and this may be blasphemy to some, I actually enjoyed Prometheus a little better than the original.

Here is a basic plot synopsis.

In the movie Prometheus is the ship that is traveling to a distant moon LV-223 that is orbiting a Saturn like gas-giant planet. The ship is aptly named because it is searching for the origins of human life. In Greek mythology Prometheus was a Titan that supposedly created mankind out of clay stole fire and gave it to mankind. On earth in the year 2089 archaeologists Elizabeth Shaw and Charlie Holloway discover a star map in a cave in Scotland that matches others similar stone maps from several unconnected ancient cultures. The Wayland Corporation funds the expedition with Meredith Vickers on board as the companies representatives. Their aim is to follow the star map from the cave and find the “engineers” of humanity. The crew is in stasis as the ship flies to this distant moon arriving in the year 2093.

Once they arrive upon the moon Elizabeth Shaw and Charlie Holloway come across other malevolent life forms found inside a cave. Also on board is David and android built by the Wayland Corporation. David finds a secret control room with containers filled with a mysterious dark liquid. The crew comes across dead alien bodies thought to be the engineers they are looking for. They also find a decapitated head of one of the engineers. When a sudden storm pops up the crew is forced to return to the ship, however two crew members were unsuccessful in making it back to the ship. These two are eventually killed by snake like creatures found in the cave.

Back on board the ship Elizabeth Shaw discovers that the DNA of engineers is identical to humans. Shaw also finds herself pregnant with an alien offspring. Using a surgical table she is able to perform her own C-setion to kill the alien. Peter Waylands, the elderly CEO of the Wayland Co. is found in stasis on board. He was thought to have died on earth while Prometheus was traveling to moon LV-223. David leads Wayland and Shaw to a chamber he found that contains the Engineers in stasis. One is revived and becomes violent ripping David’s android head from his body and killing Wayland. Shaw tries to return to the Prometheus as the woken Engineer climbs into his space ship. Shaw radios the Prometheus that the Engineer is heading to earth and must be stopped. With no weapons working Prometheus sacrifices itself and crashes into the Engineer’s space craft. After the two crafts have crashed upon the moons surface Shaw explores the Prometheus to find the Engineer still alive. During a brief fight with Shaw the Engineer is attacked by Shaw’s now fully grown alien offspring that was not killed during the C-Section. This enables Shaw to get away using the Engineers space ship. As Shaw gets away and tells David, whose head is till working, that she is not returning to Earth but is heading out to find the home planet of the Engineer, an alien bursts forth from the chest of the dead Engineer.

Those were the essentials of the plot. The special effects are top notch with some of the effects reminiscent of what we saw in Avatar. The acting is very good also. Although I didn’t mention the character of Meredith Vickers too much in my review, she is played by the beautiful Charlize Theron, and she is a real bitch!! Very good acting. Noomi Rapace plays Elizabeth Shaw and she is the heroine of the movie. She is not portrayed as a tough hard nosed gal but as an average person who has to rise up to the challenge and to survive. Michael Fassbender plays David and his portrayal is very good and you really don’t know if he is a good guy or a bad guy.

I really enjoyed the story and the characters. The story was suspenseful without being too horrific. I think Ridley Scott, who directed the first Alien movie, stuck a good balance between horror and science fiction. I highly recommend this addition to the franchise.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

