Disney Buys Star Wars

You have all heard the news I am certain. George Lucas has sold the right to Star Wars to Disney for a whopping total of $4 Billion dollars. That is a lot of money! I have lurked on a few message boards and the science fiction community are having many reactions…most are shocked and some are very unhappy. While I was shocked, I didn’t see this coming although evidently it has been in the works for months, I am also very pleased. With the announcement of the sale Disney is wasting no time in putting its new possession to work and has announced that Star Wars VII will hit the theaters in 2015 with episodes VIII and IX to follow later.

At the end of this post I will link to a Wikipedia page that shows a list of the movies that Disney Pictures has done since the 1940s. It is an impressive list! I think the Star Wars franchise is in good hands. This move was inevitable. George has said he is retired from directing and the future of Star Wars (and Indiana Jones) was up in the air. With this sale both of these franchises are asserted a solid future. I have heard some complain about the recent John Carter movie or the Prince of Persia movies as a sign that Disney will not know how to handle the franchise. I disagree. I actually liked both of those movies a great deal, and I think the problem was in marketing and not in the quality of the films themselves. I don’t think Star Wars will suffer a marketing problem. Not many people knew of the John Carter of Mars stories or the Prince of Persia video game that these movies were based off of. However, Star Wars has no such identity crisis.

Star Wars is in the hands of a company that knows how to tell quality stories and weave engaging tales. I am happy that the final three movies in the series will be made. Although I am a much bigger Star Trek fan than Star Wars fan I still love and enjoy the franchise very much. Heck, I even like the new trilogy. Today sitting here typing I feel good that the future of Star Wars is in good hands.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Disney_theatrical_feature_films

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on November 1, 2012, in In Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

