World War Z

I just saw the trailer for World War Z the other day and I thought I would share this with you because it does look pretty good. Here is a write up from Wikipedia then I will share some of my own thoughts.


World War Z is an upcoming post-apocalyptic horror film directed by Marc Forster and written by Matthew Michael Carnahan. It is based on the novel of the same name by Max Brooks. Brad Pitt stars as Gerry Lane, a worker at the United Nations, as he searches the globe for information that can stop the zombie outbreak that is bringing down nations.

Plan B Entertainment secured the film rights in 2007 and Forster was approached to direct. In 2009, Carnahan was hired to rewrite the script to the film. Filming began in July 2011 in Malta on an estimated $125 million budget, before moving to Glasgow in August 2011 and Budapest in October 2011. Originally set for a December 2012 release, the production suffered some setbacks. In June 2012, the film’s release date was pushed back and the crew returned to Budapest for seven weeks of additional shooting. Damon Lindelof was hired to rewrite the third act, but did not have the time to finish the script and Drew Goddard was hired to rewrite it. The reshoots were due to take place between September and October 2012.

World War Z is due to be released on June 21, 2013.

I like to gauge the temperature of the internet message boards on movies like these. I am really not into zombies, never seen the Walking Dead TV show and I have not read the book that this movie is based off of. I think the trailer looks good. Some of the complaints I have read about the movie is that it stars Brad Pitt. I think he is a fine actor. But I guess when some stars reach the high profile celebrity status that Pitt has reached some people suddenly will have an aversion to that actor. Another complaint from some fans after viewing the trailer is that the zombies are movie fast like a liquid when gathered en-mass. Well, I for one would be happy to see some fast moving zombies! The fear some fans have is that the movie will stray too far from the book. That is an area I have no knowledge of. It is a common complain with movies that have been made from books. I like the trailer, it looks to have a lot of action in it and since I am not the biggest horror movie fan that is a good thing for me. I will give this movie a try and I hope it turns out to be as good as it looks. 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on November 13, 2012, in Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

