Batman Forever

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o306/WmHohenzollern/batman-forever1.jpg

The Dark Knight Rising comes out on DVD in a couple of weeks. I have not seen it yet. I will get it I am just not sure when. Last night I was in a Batman mood and I watched the 1995 Batman Movie, Batman Forever,  produced by Tim Burton and directed by Joel Schumacher. The movie stars Val Kilmer as Batman/Bruce Wayne, Chris O’Donnell as Dick Grayson/Robin, Tommy Lee Jones as Harvey Dent/Two-Face, Jim Carrey as Edward Nigma/The Riddler, Nicole Kidman as Dr. Chase Meridian: A psychologist and love interest of Bruce Wayne.

This may be blasphemy to many but this is my favorite Batman movie. After I watch The Dark Knight Rises I will review that movie and the entire Nolan Batman franchise. Right now Nolan’s Batman trilogy is being hailed by fans as the best. While I do enjoy the Nolan Batman movies I do have my complaints about it. I will not go into detail here by my major complain is that they lack joy and fun. I must say that the recent string of Marvel movies really struck the right balance for me between seriousness, realism and fun and adventure. While I do appreciate Nolan’s realistic approach I do think it needs to be kept in mind that these are comic book characters after all.

This blog post is in defence of Batman Forever and why I like it. I really like Kilmer’s portrayal of Bruce Wayne/Batman. Some critics called his perfomance as Wayne wooden. I think he is mysteriously aloof with a dark secret to hide. His story arc of coming to terms with his past so he can be Batman not out of a compulsion because of guilt but because it is his choice. The movie see Bruce Wayne returning to his Locus of Control and taking responsibility for who he has become instead of blaming the death of his parents. I find that to be good character development.

I also like the fact that the coming together of Dick Grayson and Bruce Wayne as Batman and Robin is also filled with tension and good character development. They could easily have had the story be where Bruce Wayne naturally adopts DickGrayson as his partner…after all that is his destiny…but instead they take a more realistic approach where Wayne resists taking on Grayson as a partner who is also angry and wanting to avenge the death of his family.

Although Tommy Lee Jones  and Jim Carrey, who play Two-Face and the Riddler respectively, do a fine job in their roles I just wished they were a bit more serious at times. At times they are so comical and over the top that it gives the film an uneven tone and that would be my only complaint.

I find this movie a lot of fun to watch. The 1989 Batman with Michael Keaton is also good but the sequel, was too dark in tone for me but Michelle Pfeiffer as Selina Kyle / Catwoman does help redeem that movie. I find Batman Forever to be the most enjoyable movie for the reasons I stated. Plus I do like the charcter of Robin and this movie depicts his origin well and I like Chris O’Donell’s protrayal of Grayson/Robin. His Robin costume is pretty cool too.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Old Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

