Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

I watched Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter last night and want to give it a short review. First of all I am not a novel reader so I have not read the book. Nor am I the biggest fan of horror movies. I do love historical movies and the 19th century is my favorite time period, and I do admire president Lincoln so I just had to see this movie despite what I thought was a very silly premise.

The other thing that attaracted me to this film was the special effects. I am a special effects junkie and I offer no apologies for that. I saw the trailer and this certainly did look like eye candy. And it is. One of the strong points going for the movie is that it is a sumptious feats for the eyes. I gave this movie a lot of thought after I watched it and have thought about it this morning before writing this review. I am trying to sort out my feelings. I wouldn’t honestly say they are mixed because despite a strong opening of the film I gradually began to loose interest. Because I love the time period and I admire Abraham Lincoln and the movie is wonderful to look at I really wanted to like it…but I don’t.

One of the problems with the film for me is that it crams too much of Lincoln’s “life” into the film that it feels rushed. We see Lincoln as a child witnessing his mother’s murder at the hands of a vampire, we then jump to him being an adult and a vampire hunter in training to meeting both his future wife, Mary Todd, and Stephen Douglas in the same shop a few moments apart, then his life in the Senate is brief until we end up with Lincoln as President fighting a Civil War against the South populated mostly by Vampires! That was too much. All the peripheral characters, such as Adam the main Vampire, seem to stay on the periphery and they never are fleshed out and become more known.

Also, to be quite honest, I could never get beyond the silly premise. The superhero like way Lincoln wields a silver coated axe as an Indiana Jones type for the Vampire Hunting set just remained perposterous to me. We see Lincoln give the tail end of the Gettysburg Adress and since the Civil War is not so much depicted as a nation torn asunder with brother fighting brother, it is , in this reality, a war between humans and Vampires, then the words of that famous speech come off as outright lies! When Lincoln is sitting at the dinner table and sees his silver fork and realizes that that is the way to defeat the Southern Vampires I just rolled my eyes and laughed.

From my reading of other reviews from people that have read the novel, they say the novel is much better and except for the Vampire Hunting, had more historical accuracy. One of the things the movie did for me was to increase my interst in learning more about the REAL Lincoln and his life and the times he lived in. I knew I was not going to find it here.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on December 5, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

