Keeping an Open Mind…and a positive attitude.

With my review the other day of Abraham Lincoln: Vampire it reminded me of a topic I wanted write about. Keeping an open mind. Yes, I thought the premise was silly but I still worked to keep an open mind. I refequent and belong to message boards related to my science fiction/fantasy movie interests. One of my pete peeves on thse boards are with fans that are so overly negative and critical of movies long before the movies are seen.

For example, when the new Superman costume was revealed for the up comming Man of Steel movie many fanboys were crying murder because of the changes, specifically the removal of the outer underwear typical for Superman’s costume. Even though I really like the design of the new costume I can understand that some fans would not like it. That is understandable because such things are just a fact of subjective tatse. What drives me a little nutty are those that say, because of this one factor, that the movie is doomed and that it will suck.

Yes, I know I should not be upset over the rantings of people on the internet. I guess I have an issue when I percieve people being irrational. It doe showever raise the issue of keeping an open mind before going to see a movie. In science these is an issue of confirmation bias which scientists have to be mindful of. So it is no surprise that when a person goes to see a movie “assured that it will suck” and then leaves the theater with their bias confirmed. It sounds like they never gave the movie a chance.

How about confirmation bias in the other direction? Is that also equally irrational? For instance, I am really excited about the next Star Trek movie. I really loved the previous movie and so far I have seen and heard nothing that has lessened my enthusiasm for the project. I am also biased that I am sure the trailers will only increase my interest. So I have expectations that I will like the film even before I see it. Is that being equally closed minded as those who go into a film thinking it will stink? Are these biases equal?

They may not be equal. They are both biases but I think having a positive attitude when going into a movie increases the chance that I will like a movie. Trailers, such as the recent Star Trek Into Darkness trailer, is specifically made by the studio so the movie goer has a positive attitude and a desire to see the movie. I aslo think keeping a movie inperspective even when I do not like the movie. I never get to the level of hatred that many people get. I have read a lot of anger that people have had over a movie they did not like. I think the strongest emotion I have felt is disappointment. Even in movies that I like I may still have issues with them, things I would have liked to have seen done differently, but my attitude still stays positive. With movies that I end up not liking to a large degree, I can still find some things to enjoy and like about them, even if I never want to watch them again.

So maybe an open mind coupled with a positive attitude is they key to viewing movies?

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on December 7, 2012, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

