Christmas Movie Recommendations:

At the beginning of December I said I would recommend some Christmas movies and with a lot of new movie trailers and other movie reviews I wanted to do I forgot about the Christmas movies! So far I have only recommended It’s A Wonderful Life. Today I will list some of my holiday favorites, many are cherished gems that I grew up with. So as Christmas draws night and if you feel like getting into the Holiday Spirit, I recommend poPping one of these movies into your DVD player. Or stream them from Netflix, or buy them! 🙂

1. A Charlie Brown Christmas. I watched this movie ever since I was a young wee little boy. It still holds up well today.

2. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. This Rankin & Bass production was my favorite as a child. Today, the “adults” who are harsh to Rudolph come across as very cruel. Still, a likeable classic.

3. The Lemon Drop Kid. The is a 1951 Bob Hope classic movie. I happened across this movie at a yard sale a few years ago and I love it. The plot centers around a gambler and huckster as he tries to redeem his life around Christmas time. This movie features the debut of the classic holiday song Silver Bells.

4. Miracle on 34th Street. I like the 1947 original the best.

5. A Christmas Carol. Both the 1951 classic with  Alastair Sim or the 1984 version with George C. Scott are both worthy for viewing.

6. A Christmas Story. This 1983 classic is played to death on cable but it is still a great movie.

7. Christmas Vacation. The Griswold’s stay home for Christmas and all the crazy relatives come over and hilarity ensues!! Watch for a young Johnny Galecki (Leonard on the Big Bang Theory) playing the young Rusty Griswold.

8. Elf. I think this is the perfect vehicle for the talents of Will Ferrell. Funny and charming at the same time. Will plays a guy raised as an Elf off in search of his real father.

9. A Wish for Wings that Work. This animated gem stars Opus the penguin and Bill the Cat from Berekely Breathed’s comic strip, Bloom County. Follow Opus on his Christmas wish for wings that actually work.

10. Shrek the Halls. From the Shrek franchise., This TV special packs a lot of charm and laughs in a half hour.

Enjoy these movies and I wish everyone a very Merry Christmas!! Will not be posting on any of my bolgs on December 24 or 25.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on December 21, 2012, in Movie Recomendation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

