2012 in Review

I am back posting! I have had some computer problems so I was unable to post. I hope all my readers had a happy holiday season and is looking forward to the new year.

Before I look forward to the new year I want to look back at the best and worst science-fiction and fantasy movies of 2012. According to Box Office Mojo the  2012 domestic box office came in at a record $10.83 billion. this is a six-and-a-half percent increase from 2011 and is up a full 2% from 2009, which previously held the record with $10.596 billion. Good news for the studios because they will continue to make the movies we all enjoy.

In Today’s post I will concentrate on the best movies and on Wednesday I will examine the worst and on Friday I will look at what is coming in the new year.

Superhero movies topped the box office. The top two were The Avengers and The Dark Night Rises. The Avengers is actually the third highest grossing movie world wide! It is also the highest grossing movie not made by James Cameron who holds the number 1 and 2 spots respectively with Avatar and Titanic. I have seen both movies and enjoy them a great deal. I have to say that I enjoy the tone of the Avengers movie much more than the Dark Night Rises. I won’t go into too much detail because I have an article written which I will post next week that analyzes Nolan’s Batman trilogy.

The Amazing Spider-Man also did very well both at the box office and with critics. This proved to nay sayers, like myself, that it was not too early to reboot the franchise. I really enjoyed this movie a great deal. I really cannot say I like it better than the original Sam Rami trilogy but I can say I like it equally. Both movies offer a creative and enjoyable take on the web slinger. I am keeping my fingers crossed that the next installment will be just as good.

Hunger Games also did well. I did see it and I really liked it. I will eventually pick up this movie on DVD. But I still have uneasy feelings about the premise: teenagers killing one another. I felt uneasy before viewing the movies but felt the director,  Gary Ross, handled the violence without being too gratuitous. Yet, in the light of the Newtown shootings, I am once again uneasy with the premise. The sequel, Hunger Games: Catching Fire, is in production so hopefully the movie will once again assuage my uneasy feelings.

Ted, the foul-mouthed Teddy Bear from Family Guy creator Seth McFarlane really hit one out of the ol’ proverbial ball park. I am a big fan of Family Guy and its type of humor and satire so I hope that we get a sequel to this movie. Mila Kunis and Mark Wahlberg gave great performances as the couple who have to deal with Ted’s shenanigans. Seth McFarlane also reached genius levels with his performance as usual.

I am not the biggest fan of the Alien franchise, which tends to mix science-fiction with horror, but the premise of Prometheus, a prequel to the first Alien movie (1979), really had me intrigued. Many fans complained that the movie was a stand alone project and didn’t tie everything up in a tidy bow, connecting it to the first movie. But those are the very things I liked about it. You really didn’t have to be familiar with the Alien mythology to enjoy this film. And yes, this movie does leave you with questions unanswered but in  a fun way. It is like a mystery movie that keeps you wanting more. Better yet, it is like life itself where all of our questions are not always answered.

Before I leave you a list of my Top Favorite Movies, I must confess that I have not seen some of the movies that people are talking about. I have not seen Brave, Pixar’s offering for the year, nor have I seen The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. As I view these movies I will continue to review them here.

My Top Movies of 2012

1. Marvel’s The Avengers

2. The Dark Night Rises

3. The Amazing Spider-Man

4. Ted

5. Prometheus

6. Men in Black 3

7. Battleship*

8. John Carter*

9. Wrath of the Titans*

10. The Hunger Games

* = these three movies did not do well at the box office and despite the fact that I really enjoyed them I will discuss them on Wednesday when I look at the worst movies of 2012.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on January 7, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bill you out did yourself –
    I liked these reviews

Leave a Reply

