An Open letter to JJ. Abrams & Matt Reeves

Dear JJ. Abrams & Matt Reeves,

It was 5 years ago today that the movie Cloverfield opened at the theaters. I am wondering where is the sequel? Will I ever see one? I loved the movie. I have been a fan of Godzilla and other giant monster movies since I was very young. With Pacific Rim coming out this summer and with Godzilla coming out in 2014 I think the time is right for a sequel.

Five years ago I accidentally stumbled across the initial teaser trailer on YouTube. I most have watched it a dozen times in one night. I heard it was about a giant monster attacking New York. I joined a message board dedicated solely for the movie and really got caught up with the viral marketing for that film. It was a lot of fun discussing the clues and searching for clues and wondering what the creature was going to look like. With each trailer people would post screen shorts as we tried to see more detail in the creature design. I applaud you for the viral marketing it really enhanced my anticipation and the enjoyment of the film.

I saw the movie 4 times in the theater and really enjoyed it. My only qualm and quibble with the film is I did not see the monster enough. A couple of more scenes showing the monster would have been appreciated. I really love the work of the extremely talent Neville Page and his marvelously rendered and designed creature needs to be seen…again and again!

I do want to thank you both for your work. I also, as a huge Star Trek fan, loved the 2009 movie and the sequel, Star Trek Into Darkness, looks like it may even be better than that one. I really think a sequel to Colverfield would be well accepted and hopefully I will get my wish and be able to view a Cloverfield sequel sometime soon.

 

Sincerely,

 

Bill Foley

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on January 18, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

