Problems with the Justice League Movie?…oh and some Godzilla casting news!

Moviepilot.com is reporting that the Justice League Movie is without a screen writer.

http://moviepilot.com/#stories/859450-justice-league-left-cold-and-alone-and-looking-for-a-new-writer?stamp=44626&subscribe_to=401267&utm_campaign=justice-league-looking-for-a-new-writer&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=fb-channel-superheroes

The initial script written by Will Beall has been rejected and Warner Brothers and they are now looking for a new screen writer.  from the article:

Darkseid, who’s probably the biggest and baddest mofo in the DC universe. Reports are also suggesting that “heroes (beyond the core five of Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, The Flash and Green Lantern) have been cut and added from the proceedings seemingly at studio executive will.” Sounds messy.

That doesn’t sound encouraging. It does have me wondering how difficult will this movie be to make? With Marvel’s The Avengers being the 3rd highest grossing movie of all time, and with the rest of Marvel’s line-up of Superhero movies doing great, it leaves Warner Brothers, who owns the rights to DC Comics panoply of Superheros, under great pressure. Other than Nolan’s Batman trilogy the DC universe is not doing well on the big screen. Next up for WB is the Man of Steel and from all accounts the future of WB’s Superhero movies are being carried on the shoulders of the man with the big “S” on his chest! I don’t think that is hyperbole either! The studio does seem to be waiting to see how well Man of Steel does at the Box office before committing itself to further DC Superhero projects.

According to the website IGN the Justice League Movie’s roster has been revealed. The movie will consist of Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash and Green Lantern. A few of the superheros not making the cut are Martian Manhunter, Hawkman and Aquaman. I did read comic books in the 60s and 70s but to be honest I do not remember reading about the  Martian Manhunter. I am not disappointed that he will not be in the movie. What is also unknown is who will be playing these characters? Ryan Reynolds was in the 2011 Green Lantern film. It did not do well at the box office, although I liked it) so it is unknown if he will reprise the role. I hope he does. It is also unknown if Henry Cavill will Play Superman in the JL movie. Again, I hope he does.  

Now for some Godzilla news…

The next Godzilla movie, made by Legendary Pictures, and directed by Gareth Edwards, goes in front of the cameras next month. It has been reported they are looking for young boys to cast and they are also looking at Bryan Cranston. Cranston is famous for AMC’s Breaking Bad, he was also in the recent Total Recall remake.

Elizabeth Olsen has been officially cast in the movie!!! Olsen, the sister of twins Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen of the 80-90s Full House TV show, is a new comer but has also received rave reviews from her role in 2011’s Silent House and Martha Marcy May Marlene. while I think these are good choices I must confess I am a bit worried that with only a month to go before principal photography begins, no cast member has of yet officially signed on for the project.

http://www.superherohype.com/news/articles/174901-bryan-cranston-and-elizabeth-olsen-eye-godzilla

What this fan cannot wait for is to see the new design for the iconic radioactive monster! I hope an image is either officially released or leaked very soon…along with some type or teaser trailer!.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on February 12, 2013, in In Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

