Godzilla: Tokyo S.O.S. 2003

This next film in the Millennium series, Godzilla: Tokyo S.O.S., is a direct sequel to the previous film, Godzilla Against Mechagodzilla. I think I made a mistake in that review. I believe it is this movie that mentioned the previous monster attacks from Mothra, Gaira (the Green Gargantua) et al. and not the previous movie. Some of these millennium films, while enjoyable, do blur together in my mind. Although the movie begins with Kiyru (Mechagodzilla) being repaired after its damage from the previous film, this movie has an entirely new set of characters. So while technically a sequel because it share continuity with the previous film, it also seems like a stand-alone-film due to the new story surrounding the new characters.

The Shobijin, Mothra’s twin fairies, show up and appear to Dr. Chujo (from the 1961  movie Mothra) and warn him that Mortha is very angry that the Japanese government used the bones of the first Godzilla to create Kiyru and if the bones are not returned to the sea Mothra will come to destroy Tokyo. The Government then ignores this warning and shortlyafterwards  Godzilla appears once again to raise havoc. A repaired Kiyru, along with Mothra, battle Godzilla with Godzilla gaining the upper hand. Kiyru once again is returned to base for repairs while on Infant Island two Morthra larvae hatch and head to Tokyo to assist their mother. Once Kiyru is again repaired Godzilla and Kiyru face off. During the ensuing battle Mothra is killed. Kiyru is able to inflict a significant wound in Godzilla’s chest and his roar reawakened once again the Godzilla bones inside of him. As the Mothra larvae encase Godzilla in their web and Kiyru, who no longer wants to fight Godzilla,  wraps him with cables and carries him out to sea where the two crash into the ocean to rest at the bottom of the sea.

I have  read where some fans didn’t care for this film. I happen to enjoy it a great deal. All Godzilla movies have pretty good monster battles and destruction so many of these films fail or succeed with the human story being told. For me I really enjoy the human story. Dr. Chujo is a very kindly old man who teaches his grandson about Mortha and it is this grandson who, thinking outside the box, creates the symbol that contacts Mothra using desks from a school room. Meanwhile Dr. Chujo’s nephew,  Yoshito Chujo, a mechanic on the Kiyru repair team, is having a difficult time as the Kiyru pilot squad doesn’t think much of him. But in the end it is  Yoshito Chujo who saves the day and repairs Kiyru allowing the pilots to capture Godzilla.

There is a great deal of warmth and charm in the human story as each over comes some prejudice and adversity to make an impact and a difference. Sure, many of the things we see in the monster fights have been done before but it is the human story that really does it for me. I do have to say the special effects are very well done and the monster battles are enjoyable. Mothra, at times is rendered in CGI so it is not a model and that actually brings him to life more than he has been in the past.

I rate this movie: A

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on February 20, 2013, in Godzilla Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

