85th Academy Awards

This Sunday the 85th Academy Awards will be broadcast. Also known as the Oscars it will award for the best in the motion picture industry. Today I will expand the focus of this blog and look at all the movies and actors for this years Oscars ceremony. All I will do is list the major categories and place in italics who I think will win. Next week I will see how close I was to being right!

Seth McFarlane, creator of Family Guy et al. who also is agreat musical talent and a man of a thousand voices will be hosting this years ceremony and that is one of the reasons I am really looking forward to this Sunday’s show.

Best Supporting Actress:

  • Amy Adams ~ The Master
  • Sally Field  ~ Lincoln
  • Anne Hathaway ~ Les Misérables
  • Helen Hunt ~ The Sessions
  • Jacki Weaver ~ Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Actor:

  • Alan Arkin ~ Argo
  • Robert De Niro ~ Silver Linings Playbook
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman ~ The Master
  • Tommy Lee Jones ~ Lincoln
  • Christoph Waltz ~ Django Unchained

Best Actress:

  • Jessica Chastain ~ Zero Dark Thirty
  • Jennifer Lawrence  ~Silver Linings Playbook
  • Emmanuelle Riva ~ Amour
  • Quvenzhané Wallis ~ Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Naomi Watts ~ The Impossible

Best Actor:

  • Bradley Cooper ~ Silver Linings Playbook
  • Daniel Day-Lewis ~ Lincoln
  • Hugh Jackman ~ Les Misérables
  • Joaquin Phoenix ~ The Master
  • Denzel Washington ~ Flight

Best Director:

  • Michael Haneke ~ Amour
  • Ang Lee ~ Life of Pi
  • David O. Russell  ~ Silver Linings Playbook
  • Steven Spielberg ~ Lincoln
  • Benh Zeitlin ~ Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Film:

  • Amour
  • Argo
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Django Unchained
  • Les Misérables
  • Life of Pi
  • Lincoln
  • Silver Linings Playbook
  • Zero Dark Thirty

I base my choices on who I would like to see win these awards. Sometimes the choices are difficult. For example, I really like both supporting actors Tommy Lee Jones and Robert De Niro so I will be happy to see either of them win. I am a big fan of Steven Spielberg and Lincoln so I hope they win many awards. What is controversial is that Argo, which may win Best Picture, was directed by Ben Affleck who was completely snubbed this year and not even nominated as best director!! How can the Best made film not have its director nominated!!?? Then again Quentin Tarantino was not nominated for his movie, Django Unchained, either. Ah, Hollywood. It does seem like High Scool with money!!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on February 22, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

