Why so Serious?

Due to a shoulder injury that is not healing fast enough I will not be posting my Legal Succession series. I will get back to it as soon as I feel better. So instead of not posting at all I will post a little bit each week.

The Joker did ask a good question. Why so serious? The dark, realistic and moody science fiction film is all the rage now. Sparked by the success of the Nolan Batman Trilogy many movie franchises are taking the dark and serious approach to these films. Although serious, dark and moody has been the go-to tone of many films the recent Marvel movies and the Avengers were very succesful in striking the balance between serious action and fun.

I do think serious and dark has its place, I just do not want a steady diet of it. I will mention three movies that are coming out this year, and one coming out next year, and discuss my feelings about the tone of theese films.

Man of Steel: This is the one I am most cautious about. Nuke the fridge reports that at a recent screening people are saying it will be one of the best movies of the year and that it is an action packed film that is not as serious as the trailers present. To me that is good news. I want to see a serious Superman film. I also want it to have some fun and great action and adventure. Although I loved the Reeves films, I am in the mood for something more serious, just not as serious as the Nolan Batman Trilogy.

http://nukethefridge.com/2013/02/28/early-screenings-reaction-to-man-of-steel/

Star Trek Into Darkness: Star Trek has always been dramatic with bits of humor sprinkled about liberally and naturally. This new movie seems very intense and I am really looking forward to it. I am trusting that there will be some moments of some levity and that it is also has some great action and adventure.

Now one for 2014…

Godzilla: I love Godzilla movies. We have the very dark and serious 1954 original (and the 1956 American version of the original). Since then a few movies came close to being as serious, Return of Godzilla in 1984/85 and the 2001 Godzilla, Mothra, King Ghidorah; Giant Monsters all out Attack. Many other Godzilla movies were more light in tone and were loads of fun. Since the director, Gareth Edwards, said he wants this movie to recreate that original tone, I for one am ready for a dark and serious Godzilla movie.

It will be interesting how the tone of these films actually pan out. It will also be interesting to see how long this trend continues.

EDIT: here is a link to someone who supossedly has also seen the Man of Steel movie. Some very light spoilers. http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/nailbiter111/news/?a=75176

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on March 5, 2013, in In Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

