Do Not Feed the Trolls!

Ah, the wonders of the internet! Prior to the internet I enjoyed certain movies in relative peace not knowing that I wasn’t supposed to like them. Until I got on the internet I never knew that some movies were so hated by the fandom of certain franchises.  For example in 1989 I went to the theater to see the new Star Trek movie, Star Trek V: The Final Frontier. The theater was full and people were laughing (the movie had raised the level of comedy since Star Trek IV), I enjoyed the story and had a very good time. It wasn’t until somewhere in the early 2000s did I learn how hated that movie is among the rest of the fans of the franchise. I never knew until then that I was not supposed to like it. I never got the memo.

All who follow my blog know that I am a huge fan of the Godzilla franchise. Well, last June I joined a message board devoted to the franchise and that hatred for the 1998 American Godzilla movie and the 2004 Godzilla: Final Wars by the majority of the fans on this site is palpable! Again, I never got the memo I was not supposed to like these films!

Then there are other places on the net which feature trailers for upcoming movies and message boards to discuss upcoming movies. On these sites you have members crying foul and saying this movie will suck even before they see the film. It fits the very definition of prejudice. On one of these sites there was a member, who hates the movies of Christopher Nolan, who is 100% convinced that the new Superman movie, Man of Steel, will suck and be the worse Superman movie ever made. This person said they will wait to borrow the movie from the library just to confirm how awful it really is. Talk about confirmation bias!

Then there is Ain’t It Cool News…This web site run by Harry Knowles is a great place to learn about up coming movies and reviews for the movies as they come out and a lot of other behind the scenes information. Just don’t read the talk back section. No wonder it was successfully parodied in Kevin Smith’s movie “Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back.” It is filled with trolls just trash talking everyone and everything.

Maybe it is my age. I am not sure of the demographics of the people on these sites but I suspect they’re young. It can be a challenge for someone who enjoys science fiction movies, and who enjoys following the making of these movies before they come out, to find intelligent and meaningful discussion in these places. I will continue to look for news and find these rare discussions that make this hobby enjoyable. I just need to ignore the trolls.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is the problem with the Internet.

    The City is thinking of hosting a Facebook page, which is a great way to keep in touch with members of the community. But they are considering not allowing comments, which the newspaper suggests is just to avoid actually interacting with the community. I disagree. Even on the newspaper’s own site, on a single article, there can be an excessive number of comments. The venom flows freely. Imagine expecting City officials to ‘deal with’ a consolidated list of complaints on an hourly basis – our paid officials and staff would have no time left to DO their jobs! I’ve found that personally contacting the appropriate office or individual has always yielded reasonably good results. I may not get what I wanted, but at least the issue is addressed and someone is aware of the problem. Why is this not enough for Facebook users? I think people just want to complain, rather than making an effort to communicate effectively.

    The Internet is a hypothetical “place” where everyone thinks their own opinions are the only ideas that count. And rather than being polite, they lash out at an invisible enemy without being able to visualize the damage.

    While the Internet is a powerful tool for keeping people connected, it is just as powerful a weapon. This is why certain people do not have access to my Facebook comments; their intent is not to communicate but to be aggressive (a little shout-out too to those kind enough to remove themselves from my friends list: I do appreciate their honesty).

Leave a Reply

