Comic Book Men

I love the show Pawn Stars on the History Channel. It has become a very popular show and has inspired other similar shows. Today I want to reccomend one of the shows which Pawn Stars has inspired: Comic Book Men. The show is from director Kevin Smith and it takes place at his comic book store Jay & Silent Bob’s Secret Stash. The show opens and closes with Smith surrounded by the employees of his store (Walt Flanagan, Bryan Johnson,Mike Zapcic and Ming Chen) talking about what happened at the store that week, which we then see in the episode. Sadly, the show is bookended with Smith talking to his crew but he is not seen in the episode at the shop too often.

Like Pawn Stars what we see are people coming in to sell or buy rare comic books or toys and props related to comic book characters or superhero.science-fiction movies. Many of the items brough in are things that are of interst but the real interest of the show is also the colorful charcters of the show. I stole this from Wikipedia and it is the back ground information on all the people on the show.

Kevin Smith – The owner of the store, and a filmmaker and author whose films include Clerks, Chasing Amy and Red State, and whose books include My Boring-Ass Life. Smith has been a comic book fan since he was a child, and has gone on to write such comic book series as Daredevil, Green Arrow, and Batman: Cacophony.

Walt Flanagan – Smith’s friend since high school, and the manager of Jay and Silent Bob’s Secret Stash since 1997. Flanagan has also appeared in small roles in Smith’s films, and is a comic book artist himself, having illustrated Smith’s miniseries Batman: Cacophony and Batman: The Widening Gyre. He co-hosts the podcast Tell ‘Em Steve-Dave! with Bryan Johnson and Brian Quinn.

Mike Zapcic – Zapcic is described as having an “encyclopedic knowledge of every issue of every comic known to man”, which he utilizes at Secret Stash, where he began working in 2000. He co-hosts the podcast I Sell Comics! with Ming Chen, and lives in Long Branch, New Jersey with his wife, Julia and their sons, Mitch and Daniel.

Bryan Johnson – A longtime friend of Smith’s, who, while not officially an employee at Secret Stash, can often be found behind the front counter. Like Flanagan, he has appeared in a number of Smith’s films. In 2000, he wrote, directed, and starred in the movie Vulgar, which was based on the clown cartoon featured in the intro of Smith’s film, Clerks, and which premiered at the Toronto Interntational Film Festival. He has also written comic books, including Karney and War of the Undead, both of which were illustrated by Walt Flanagan. He co-hosts the podcast Tell ‘Em Steve-Dave! with Walt Flanagan and Brian Quinn.

Ming Chen – Chen first met Smith through the fansite he created in dedication to Smith in 1995, which led to Chen being hired to create the View Askew Productions website. Today he continues to work on all of Smith’s online properties, and is the technical expert at the Stash. He co-hosts the podcast I Sell Comics! with Mike Zapcic, and in his free time, he does pro bono website work for two non-profit organizations, Street Poets Inc. and The Kenny Gordon Foundation. He has a wife, Debbie, and two children, Lillian and Harrison.

This show is a celebration of all things nerdy and geeky. Yes this truly is a version of Pawn Stars for the nerd set. It is broadcast on AMC Thursday nights. Tonight it starts at its new time, 10:00pm. If you have not seen it I recommend giving it a view it is very enjoyable.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

