Independence Day Sequels

This information is from Nuke  the Fridge.com…

Director Roland Emmerich is gearing up for two more rounds with the aliens that wreaked havoc on Earth in 1996′s “Independence Day.”  After his action film “White House Down” is released on June 28th, Emmerich will focus his attention on making “ID Forever Part 1,” and “ID Forever Part 2.”

The films will take place 20 years after the events in “Independence Day.” Apparently, the original alien invasion force was able to send a distress signal to reinforcements before they were defeated by Earth’s military.  Here is what Emmerich had to say about the sequels.

”The humans knew that one day the aliens would come back,” explains the director, who completed two scripts with ”Independence Day” co-writer Dean Devlin and has given them to ”White House Down“ writer-producer James Vanderbilt for a rewrite. ”And they know that the only way you can really travel in space is through wormholes. So for the aliens, it could take two or three weeks, but for us that’s 20 or 25 years.”

Emmerich has been working with art department staff to see how the world will look in the aftermath of “Independence Day.”  This is what he explained.

“It’s a changed world. It’s like parallel history. [Humans] have harnessed all this alien technology. We don’t know how to duplicate it because it’s organically-grown technology, but we know how to take an antigravity device and put it in a human airplane.”

As far as the characters are concerned, actor Bill Pullman, who played President Thomas J. Whitmore, will return; Will Smith (Captain Steven Hiller) has not.  The scripts will focus on a new generation of characters, including Hiller’s stepson Dylan.

“It’s still some of the same characters, but also new younger characters; it’s a little bit like the sons take over,” says Emmerich, who promises that the first sequel will have a cliffhanger ending to keep audiences coming back for more. “The first one ends on a little success, but only enough to give the humans hope. And then in the second one they free themselves again [from the aliens].”

After the mass destruction of the original “Independence Day,” what’s left for new aliens to destroy?

“We’ve rebuilt,” Emmerich answers, with a smile. “But [the aliens] also do different things.”

Here are my thoughts: I love alien invasion movies! I also love the movie Independence Day! When it came out in 1996 I saw it in the theater 4 times! That was how much I enjoyed the movie. Yes, on Independence Day each year I take out the DVD and watch this film. It is fun, action packed and it doesn’t take itself too seriously. I have been waiting for a sequel ever since the movie came out. I think today film makers are more eager to cash in on a succesful franchise so it amazes me we have had to wait this long for a sequel. We are getting two more movies to make it a trilogy. I am keeping my fingers crossed that all of this happens!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on March 29, 2013, in In Development, Movie News of the day. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

