Summer Blockbuster!!! Part 2

 After Earth (June 7, 2013)

This movie is directed by M. Night Shyamalan and although he doesn’t have a good track record I do like the premise of this film. I t also has Will Smith and his son Jaden starring in it and for me that is also  a big plus.  A spaceship crash lands on Earth a thousand years in the future, encountering a completely different environment overrun by animals and a mysterious threat. The trailers look fantastic and I’m really excited for it.

This is The End (June 12, 2013)

One of the interesting aspects of this science-fiction comedy is that the cast, James Franco, Jonah Hill, Jason Segel, Michael Cera, Danny McBride, Jay Baruchel, Craig Robinson, plus plenty of other celebrity guests, all play themselves in this end of the world romp. They are all attending a party at the house of James Franco when the end of the world happens. This R rated comedy has been directed by Seth Rogen from a script he co-wrote with  Evan Goldberg. This looks to be very hilarious!

World War Z  (June 21, 2013)

Lately Zombies are everywhere and now here comes a movie about a post-apocalyptic world destroyed by zombies. Now I am not really into the zombie craze but I must say, this movie, starring Brad Pitt, does look pretty good from the trailers I have seen. So I will be giving this a  look. This movie is based on  a book, written by Max Brooks.

Elysium (August 9, 2013)

This is from the same filmmaker who brought us District 9.  Elysium is a dystopian look at a futuristic society where the poor struggle to live on Earth and the wealthy live in idyllic conditions aboard a floating space station called Elysium. This stars  Matt Damon and Jodie Foster. The trailer was just released and it looks amazing. This is another of my must see movies!  

Monster University (June 21, 2013)

Mike & Sully are back! This prequel to Monster’s Inc has been long overdue. There is not much done by Pixar that I do not like. Monster’s Inc has always been one of my favorites. This movie shows thew College Years of Mike and Sully, at first they are rivals, lets see them become friends. Lets hope lightning strikes twice and that this is a hit!! Billy Crystal and John Goodman return to supply the voices to Mike and Sulley

I am sure other movies will also come out that I want to see and I will post them as I become aware of them. I will be keeping track of these movies and at the end of the summer I will see how well they did at the box office.

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 12, 2013, in Captain's Log..., Movie Recomendation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

