Trailers!! Trailers! Trailers!

Last week Star Trek Into Darkness and Man of Steel both released trailers on the same day. Many people in the fan base were thrilled to see them. They both contained new footage previously not seen in prior trailers. However, not everyone was thrilled. As I mentioned in my Do Not Feed the Trolls entry there are those who will have a closed mind about a movie even before they step into the theater if they see them at all. Another complaint is that trailers show too much and give away too much of the plot of the movie to the point where they feel why bother see the movie at all?

Such is life on the internet. There seems to be very negative people who are so critical it seems that they ruin the possibility of them ever enjoying certain movies.

Do trailers spoil the movie? I really have not had that experience. Often a trailer will do for me what they are designed to do. They will give me a window into the movie and generally entice me to want to see it. One such experience was when I saw the first Cloverfield trailer back in the fall of 2007. There was a movie called Dragon Wars that was coming out soon so I went onto YouTube to view the trailer. When I saw the trailer I looked into the comments section and I saw someone say “it doiesn’t look as good as Cloverfield.” Well, I looked up that trailer and I was instantly hooked!! That trailer really made me want to see that movie!

The recent Star Trek and Superman trailers gave me the same response. I really want to see these movies. They show enough to give me a basic idea what the movie is about but they really do not spoil the movie for me. Here is a link to those two trailers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6DJcgm3wNY , http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAEkuVgt6Aw

This was a small rant so thanks for reading. I want to close with a new trailer of the upcoming movie After Earth starring Will Smith. I just love Will Smith in science-fiction movies. I do not know a lot about the plot of this movie and while this trailer does give me a little more information there is still more to learn. The trailer is successful in making me want to see the movie.

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=103328

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 25, 2013, in Beaming this video to you.... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

