Star Trek Time Line

Less than a month from now Star Trek Into Darkness will come out in theaters here in the US. I must confess that I am on message boards where people in Australia have already seen the film so I know the majority of the spoilers. This blog post however, will NOT CONTAIN ANY SPOILERS!

I am also working my way through the original series on the remastered DVDs. I really love the 1960s original series. I also love Star Trek: The Next Generation and also Voyager. I could never get into Star Trek: Deep Space 9 beyond a handful of episodes that I enjoy and the same goes for the final series called Enterprise. I do like all of the movies even the so-called “bad ones” Like Star Trek V: The Final Frontier and Star Trek: Nemesis the last movie to feature the Next Generation crew.

I also love JJ Abram’s last Star Trek movie…it really is one of my favorites, if not my very favorite. Yet I sill have some struggles with it. My main struggle is where to place this movie in the time line along with my other favorite Star Trek shows? Yup, I am a big old nerd concerned about such things.

Here is the problem. They have two future characters, Spock and Nero, a renegade Romulan ready for revenge that travel back in time. Or do they? The writers of the movie  Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman have stated that the Narada (Nero’s ship) by going back in time and destroying the USS Kelvin, an laternate time line gets established but it doesn’t erase the old timeline. While I am fine with that concept, the problem is that the movie really fails to communicate that concept. In many ways the movie plays like a typical Star Trek time travel episode where in the end everything is set right…except in this case there is no reset button at the end.

Uhura says something about an alternate reality but that is a vague statement. While the term alternate reality is a synonym for a parallel universe which is a hypothetical or fictional self-contained separate reality coexisting with one’s own, much of the movie plays out as if Spock and Nero are from the future of the reality of the central characters. The writers want you to think both things at the same time and that is what gets confusing. They treat Nero and Spock Prime as if they are from the future of Young Spock and Young Kirk when in reality they are not from their future if the alternate reality theory is true.

Take the destruction of Vulcan for example. If the alternate reality theory is true, Spock Prime (old Spock) really is not witnessing the destruction of his planet Vulcan, but the Vulcan from this parallel universe or alternate reality. In Spock Prime’s reality his home planet, the one we first saw in the original series episode, “Amok Time” still exists in the original reality.

Lets take the destruction of Romulus. Supposedly it took place in the regular Prime Universe or reality and that by going through the Black Hole Nero and Spock Prime end up in the alternate reality where Romulus still exists. When Nero is interrogating Captain Pike and Pike says that Romulus still exists and Nero screams that it has happened (the destruction of Romulus), why didn’t Pike tell him…or someone tell him…that they are in a new reality and that in this reality Romulus still exists?

Bu they don’t say anything because, as I said, the movie plays out as if it is all occurring in the prime universe that we all love…but this time without a reset button. The loss of Vulcan, Spock’s mother, Kirk’s father etc, has more of an emotional punch if all of the characters are from the prime universe.

My struggle with that is I don’t care for the idea that old Trek has been erased through the actions of this Trek reboot. So I will accept the writers intent even though I think the evidence is pretty flimsy. I do like the movie, honestly I do…depite the problem.

I also had a scenario where Trek 09 does take place in an already preexisting reality completely separate from the original Trek time line. In other words, Spock Prime and Nero really are from the future of young Spock and young Kirk as depicted in the movie and they are not from the original time line. The only problem with that is it is hard to see Leonard Nimoy as Spock Prime and not think of him as the same Spock we all have known and loved. For this scenario to work I would have to see Zac Quinto as the older version of Spock. I agree with the many fans who wished they had done a straight out-and-out reboot instead of the half-reboot that we got.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

