Godzilla 2014: My Expectations

We are little more than a year out from the next Godzilla movie being released to theaters. I am actively watching for news of the production. From the last bit of news I found was that production has shifted to Hawaii (where I am told Jurassic Park IV is currently filming). As I wait for this movie I have read online the expectations people have for this movie and I have contemplated my own expectations.

This movie will be the 30th Godzilla movie. 28 of them were Japanese productions and one other movie, the 1998 Godzilla movie, was the first American produced Godzilla movie. This movie will be the second American production. I can envision some readers having a fit or a stroke by the mere fact I mentioned the 1998 American Godzilla movie because many fans call the movie, and the American Godzilla, GINO (Godzilla In Name Only) and to this day the mere mention of this movie will produce a volume of outrage and hatred. I understand from my reading message boards and other sources about the 2014 Godzilla is that their main concern is that this new American production will not resemble the 1998 version. While I enjoyed, and still do enjoy the 1998 movie I am pretty confident that this movie will be nothing like its 1998 counterpart.

Some of the fans seemed concerned that they will get another design of Godzilla that will not look or act like the Japanes version of Godzilla. After the bad reviews and the outcry from fans over the 1998 Godzilla movie I have no worries about the design of Godzilla for 2014. The studio isn’t that crazy to put out a multi-million dollar Godzilla movie and have it be where the monster doesn’t look like Godzilla. I don’t think Legendary Pictures will make the same mistake.

Director Gareth Edwards has stated that he wants this to be a serious movie like the 1954 original. He want to portray Godzilla as if these events were happening in real life.  One of the stars of the film, Elizabeth Olsen, described the film as “definitely not lighthearted. It’s kind of going back to its roots of the original Japanese film.” These statements also have me thinking about the tone of the film and my personal expectations. With so many Godzilla films that I enjoy there is a diversity of themes and tones to choose from.

Godzilla 54 is a very dark movie in tone. As the series moved on it also moved away from that serious tone. At one point it moved so far away from that serious tone that movies such as Godzilla vs Megalon are like a Saturday morning kiddie show! In later movies Godzilla did return to a more serious tone but it never would reach the seriousness that the very first movie achieved. It seems that Gareth Edwards wants to be the first to return to the tone of the 1954 movie.

I am very excited about that because in many ways the first Godzilla movie was the best. But I do have one slight concern. Although I think Godzilla, King of the Monsters (and the un-Americanized Japanese version, Gojira) are the best films, they are not always the most fun to watch. More often I am in the mood for a more lighthearted romp through the streets of Tokyo. So I am hoping that this serious tone will also be equally enjoyable to watch. I don’t have too many concerns that it won’t be.

That leads me to my next point. They story. Screenwriter Frank Darabont is on record saying that not only will Godzilla be returning to his roots as force of nature but that the film will add a “very compelling human drama.” I am encouraged by that but I must confess that I am pretty sure that even if the story isn’t that great I will probably still enjoy the movie. First of all, of the 29 Godzilla films already produced not all of them have great human stories to begin with. Yet, I really like ALL Godzilla movies therefore my expectations on the human story are not that high. If we get a real good compelling human drama then that will be the icing on the cake.

Face it, most Godzilla fans watch the series for good monster action and destruction. I am as guilty as charged in that area. Also, if you have been following this blog, I am unapologetically a special effects junkie. We are in a Golden Age of special effects. I know many people complain about CGI and I think good quality CGI is very enjoyable and I love how it can whisk you off to other worlds. Double Negative is the effects company that are doing the special effects. Follow the link and the bottom of the page to see the stellar work they have done. So I am pretty confident we will ge a life-like Godzilla, unlike any we have seen before, with other spectacular effects to go along with it.

So my confidence is high for this movie and from everything I have read I really do not have anything to worry about. If you’re a Godzilla fan I don’t think you should worry either.

http://www.dneg.com/

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 1, 2013, in In Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

