Jurassic Park IV on Hold and other monster related news.

It was reported last week that Jurassic Park IV is on hold. Not permanently I hope. Bryce Dallas Howard and David Oyelowo were front-runners to join the cast. Colin Trevorrow has been tapped to direct the next film but Universal Studios has canceled the release date from June 13, 2014 but no other release date has been Set. Universal Studio said that the reason was to give the film more time for development in order to “bring audiences the best possible version.” Does this mean that JP4 will be stuck in development hell? I don’t think so. It doesn’t sound as if there is a major crisis with production. It just seems like, to me anyways, that the release date they set did not give them the time to produce the quality movie they want.

I was not upset by this news. First of all next year Legendary Pictures is releasing Godzilla and I am really looking forward to that. That may be enough dino-action for me. Godzilla is filming right now as production has moved to Hawaii and the release date for that movie is set for May 16, 2013. JP4, on the other hand, has not even started filming yet! So there was no way they were going to meet the June 13, 2014 release date. I would rather have them take their time than rush a movie onto the screens.

Speaking of Universal Studios…There was news last week that Legendary pictures (LP), who has been in partnership with Warner Brothers Pictures (WB) may be parting company. LP & WB have produced such recent hits as the Nolan Batman trilogy, the new Superman movie, Clash of the Titans, 300, Wrath of the Titans and others. They are also jointly producing Godzilla. If they do part ways I have been told it will not hamper anything related to the Godzilla movie.

However, there was a rumor that is the split does happen LP might team up with Universal Studios! Now, as a Godzilla fan that would be sweet music to my ears! I am pretty certain that if Godzilla is succesful then there will be a sequel. Universal Studio owns the rights to King Kong and many fans would love to see a remake of the 1964 classic King Kong vs Godzilla. A remake of that movie with state-of-the-art special effects would be a dream come true!! I doubt that this will happen but a Nerd like myself can dream!! 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 17, 2013, in In Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

