Star Wars II: Attack of the Clones

This second prequel movie, Star Wars II: Attack of the clones is also a treat for the eyes. There are many spectacular sights and wonderfully designed creatures.

In trilogies often the middle movie can suffer because  often issues will not be resolved. Over all this is a pretty good film although it gets bogged down in one of the issues that played hampered the first film. Namle, the politics that drives the plot. I think if you’re a fan that gets caught up in the minutia of the Star Wars universe then the story of how the Republic became the evil Galactic Empire might be more interesting. Although I did like the plot line of the building of the secret clone army.

Pros: I do like Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan Kenobi. We really only saw Sir Alex Guiness in the role for this character in one movie. Yes he has cameos as a ghost in the others but I really think McGregor, in having three movies to flesh out the character, really is the one we get to know the best. The scenes I felt that showed the best sense of suspense and intrigue were the ones where Obi-Wan goes to Kamino and engages Jango Fett. We also get to see the young Boba Fett, who would become a loved character in the original trilogy. The opening scene and the attack on Padme’s ship is attacked is exciting and well executed. So is the chase scene with Anakin and Obi-Wan as they go after the bounty hunter who tried a second attack om Padme. The scene in the arena where our galant heroes fight these vicious beasts and when Yoda and the rest of the Jedi, along with the clone army, fight off the separatists is great action and adventure and it is all done spectacularly. The fight between Yoda and Count Dooku is also well done and a highlight of the movie.

Cons: The biggest negative factor is Hayden Christensen. At times his acting is stiff and wooden. Worse than jake Lloyd in my opinion. When he is trying to be rebellious he just comes across as whinny and complaining. Also, the relationship between Anakin and Padme seems so forced and even awkward. They also do not show many good reasons why Padme would be interested in Anakin to begin with. Maybe it is true that girls like bad bays. But the problem is, he isn’t bad, just obnoxious. The other negative aspect for me was the story dragged a bit. I remember seeing the movie in the theater and getting a little restless. It did pick back up in pace…and interest…toward the end for me.

Thoughts: Overall I still enjoy this movie despite the flaws. I do not have too much to add from my last over-all thoughts from the Phantom Menace. We know Anakin is going to be seduced by the Dark Side of the Force but the problem is Anakin was not a real likeable character in the movie. I don’t know if that is due to how he was written or how Christensen played him? Either way, it does bring the movie down a bit. However, the Pros out weigh the Cons in many ways. Ewan McGregor and Natalie Portman play characters I did care about. Even though the politics was a bit boring and even confusing at times I did like seeing how the Republic was crumbling.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 21, 2013, in Old Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Justin Weinzierl

    I think you summed up the cons very well. Personally the overuse of CGI irked me.

Leave a Reply

