Godzilla Designs.

As many of my readers know I am a huge Godzilla fan. So I do focus a good portion of this blog to that character. One of my interests in the character that has grown over the last year or so surrounds the design of Godzilla himself. I think that also ties into my hobby as a budding artist. In my love of Godzilla and other giant monsters I enjoy seeing how they are designed. When I was following the viral marketing of Cloverfield I was very curious to how that monster was designed. After the movie came out and I discovered that Neville Page created Cloverfield that also increased my interest in how these monsters are designed and depicted.

I am not going to go into an elaborate history of Godzilla suits…although I may do just that some day, today I will just focus on what I have liked in these designs over the years. I like the fact that he was and is a mutated dinosaur. When I was little my first love were dinosaurs so naturally I would go ga-ga for Godzilla. I always liked the spines on Godzilla and the menacing face. The best design of the Showa Era (1954-1975) was the suit that was in Godzilla vs Mothra (AKA Godzilla vs the Thing).

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o306/WmHohenzollern/GodzillavsThing5_zpsf1824c16.jpg

s the series went on and got more child friendly Godzilla did get more friendlier looking. In fact it has been often said that he resembled a Muppet in the 1968 classic Destroy all Monsters.

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o306/WmHohenzollern/destroy_all_monsters_01-1_zps5e94464b.jpg

In the Heisei Era we got a more serious looking Godzilla. All-in-all I like the Heisei Godzilla but there are times when the face looked too feline. The last series Toho produced was the millennium Series and it produced my favorite design. Godzilla 2000. For the first time Godzilla is actually green. Prior to that he was actually a dark charcoal gray or sometimes even brown. The spines were exaggerated and enlarged and that is my favorite part. They were also given a purplish hue to the. Years ago if I had learned that my favorite design would be a green Godzilla with purple spines I would have said you’re nuts!! But it really works!

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o306/WmHohenzollern/Dark_Godzilla_by_Gojigirl_zpsd64b8672.jpg Alright this model is Blue and Prurple…but it still works.

The Millennium series also saw two other great Godzilla designs. Kiyru-Goji which looked like the Godzilla 200o design with more traditional colors and a slightly redesigned head. Then in 2003 with the Movie, Godzilla, King Godhira, Mother Giant Monsters-all-out-attack where Godzilla was brown and had white eyes with no pupils and he looks pure evil.

The other design I want to talk about is the 1998 American Godzilla, now renamed Zilla by Toho Studios. I really liked this design. Sure, he is a mutated Iguana and not a mutated dinosaur, but a cool design none the less. I won’t go into defending him of the movie, i am on record here stating how much I do like them both and there is no need to rehash that here.

With that in mind I have a link to a petition to have S.H. Monsters Art, who does excellent detailed work and has done great work on other Godzilla figures, make a detailed figure of Zilla. I hope it happens because it is a great design!

https://www.change.org/petitions/bluefin-tamashii-nations-create-a-s-h-monsterarts-figure-of-zilla-2?utm_campaign=share_button_action_box&utm_medium=facebook&utm_source=share_petition

To close this post I wanted to point you to a Facebook page I created which discusses the 60 year History of the different Godzilla designs in both the movies, comics, toys and art.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Godzilla-Designs/661382140544061#!/pages/Godzilla-Designs/661382140544061

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 23, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

